View Full Version : xb2 Stereo install information


Malibu_Rapper
05-22-2007, 05:03 AM
I noticed the plugs on the Gen1 stereo and the xB2 were the same. Yes, that's right. The same wiring kit is used for both vehicles. So I yanked the cheap DVD deck out of the Gen1 tonight and decided to put it into the xB2. Everything was pretty straight forward.

The only trouble I had was that part of the side pieces that come with the Metra kit I had to cut them off to fit onto the double DIN bracket. It all fit pretty good... So you can use the old Metra install kit even, you just need to trim off a corner of the bracket (real easy and not cosmetic).

http://www.pldlawyers.com/bp/scion/xb2/disassemble/xb2-dissassembly-74.JPG
http://www.pldlawyers.com/bp/scion/xb2/disassemble/xb2-dissassembly-73.JPG

Here is a picture of the Gen1 stereo on top of the xB2 deck.

http://www.pldlawyers.com/bp/scion/xb2/disassemble/xb2-dissassembly-71.JPG

V8Goat
05-22-2007, 12:17 PM
Dude, take that bag of chips out of the car. No eating or drinking in the car :no:

goyaxb08
05-29-2007, 02:42 AM
want'd 2 know does ur new radio allow u 2 use ur steering wheel controls and also does the aux and ipod imports that are stock work also..

MuNkY
05-29-2007, 03:13 AM
want'd 2 know does ur new radio allow u 2 use ur steering wheel controls and also does the aux and ipod imports that are stock work also..

You need a seperate piece to hook the steering wheel controls up, usually runs about $60 or so in stalled. As far as an aux input and ipod goes. Don't go cheap on an aftermarket head unit and you will get both of these.

Malibu_Rapper
05-29-2007, 10:14 PM
want'd 2 know does ur new radio allow u 2 use ur steering wheel controls and also does the aux and ipod imports that are stock work also..

A lot of the newer stereos have an input that can accept steering wheel remote controls. The catch is that you need a box to do this and you have to buy the right stereo. The box you can find from Pac-Audio or a few other guys. It's called the SWI-JACK for Kenwood, JVC, Alpine, Clarion, and some Blaupunkt. For Pioneer and Sony you need the SWI-PS You can find more info on this link:

http://www.pac-audio.com/products/productsCatagory.asp?mmSearch=Steering%20Wheel%20Interface

They just need to be programmed for the type of car and a few wires need to be hooked up.

goyaxb08
05-30-2007, 12:28 AM
thanx on the info, i think'n maybe just stick with the upgraded scion head-unit or "maybe" the avic-d3 any thoughts

SmartAss
05-30-2007, 03:41 AM
Ive done a bunch of D3s in the new xBs as well as my car with Ipod, Blue Tooth, Satellite Radio, SteeringWheel Controls and all works great and looks great.

The Metra kit is a little ehh.. The Toyota kit which metra copied fits better parts numbers are at the dealership

chewd0g
05-30-2007, 07:12 AM
So basically what you're saying is, the 2008 xB headunits would fit in a 2006 xB?

SmartAss
05-30-2007, 02:58 PM
Dashes are the same on all of the scions the 08 xb uses xA brackets

Malibu_Rapper
05-30-2007, 05:45 PM
Dashes are the same on all of the scions the 08 xb uses xA brackets

Actually, the dash in the 08 xB is just a tad different. The brackets need to be cut to work and the brackets don't match the curvature around the OEM stereo bezel. I think there will be a new kit for the 08 xB or at least I hope there is one. The xA and xB use the same installation kit but they are not the best fit for the new xB.

So basically what you're saying is, the 2008 xB headunits would fit in a 2006 xB?

Yes it will work.

SmartAss
05-30-2007, 06:07 PM
Dashes are the same on all of the scions the 08 xb uses xA brackets

Actually, the dash in the 08 xB is just a tad different. The brackets need to be cut to work and the brackets don't match the curvature around the OEM stereo bezel. I think there will be a new kit for the 08 xB or at least I hope there is one. The xA and xB use the same installation kit but they are not the best fit for the new xB.

So basically what you're saying is, the 2008 xB headunits would fit in a 2006 xB?

Yes it will work.

If you buy the brackets from toyota they snap right on without any screws. The metra ones need a bolt hole cut off on the side of the radio but so do the old ones. I havent had any problems with all the new ones Ive been installing them on.

Malibu_Rapper
05-30-2007, 08:23 PM
If you buy the brackets from toyota they snap right on without any screws. The metra ones need a bolt hole cut off on the side of the radio but so do the old ones. I havent had any problems with all the new ones Ive been installing them on.

When I moved my stereo from my 2005 xB to my 2008, I reused the Metra brackets and had to cut the corners of the brackets off. I did not have to cut it off on the 2005, it fit without any problems. But still, the contour on the Metra brackets do not match the stereo trim. The Metra is flat while the stereo trim has a convex curve to it.