View Full Version : could someone post pics of premium radio ipod interface


mikemann
05-28-2007, 07:49 PM
Trying to decide between the navigation (which I'm having a hard time spending $2K on) vs the premium radio.

Would love to see how the ipod integration looks.

Could someone posts some pictures?

Thanks,

Mike

XBFred
05-28-2007, 09:35 PM
the base radio has incredible integration. Access to almost everything, I am still trying to figure out the premium. I can't seem to access any of the menus on my ipod. I can't imagine it would be worse than the base, but you never know

If all your worried about is ipod integration, get the base, it has everything you need

mikemann
05-29-2007, 04:24 AM
Thanks, that's not encouraging about th trouble of accessing menus.

I was wondering how that all looked, you know do you get to see play lists, does is show track titles and artists?

I have a chevy silverado that I added the peripheral device for factory stereo ipod integration. It's simple doesn't show any track info, etc. But all I really do is shuffle all my music anyways.

I was pretty sold on not getting navigation, but after seeing how slick the ipod integration is...I'm curious how the premium looks.

XBFred
05-29-2007, 04:34 AM
Still trying to figure out. The base radio was awesome, could access all artists, playlist etc. I can't figure this one out. I am going to take it in in a few days if I can't. I bought this one for the RCA outs. I am thinking I just don't understand it yet, or I have a problem with my ipod or the unit itself

PaRaGoNViCtiM
05-30-2007, 02:46 AM
I have the premium HU and everything is showing up fine. The playlists, the songs, the artists, the albums, etc. I'll try to take some pics and post them tomorrow.

whatmovesu
05-30-2007, 02:50 AM
I have the premium HU and everything is showing up fine. The playlists, the songs, the artists, the albums, etc. I'll try to take some pics and post them tomorrow.

coming from an alpine HU with full speed I can't complain about the upgrade except I wish it was color seeing you are paying 389.00 for it....

For 399 you get the Alpine x001

XBFred
05-30-2007, 03:10 AM
How do you access them? Is it through the "volume" knob? I will try my wifes ipod and see what happens

SmartAss
05-30-2007, 03:44 AM
I do the pioneer D3 w/ nav and ipod for $1000 at the shop much better then the factory option.

STNC
05-30-2007, 03:46 AM
Are the new headunits compatible with the old harnesses?

SmartAss
05-30-2007, 03:54 AM
Toyota uses the same harness in every car, only acception is options and when cars are amplified.

So yes all the new radios will work int he old cars but... no aux in and no ipod unless you remove the wires from the car.

I have one for sale with the wires removed.

STNC
05-30-2007, 03:56 AM
I have the ipod, so i would need to get a new scion ipod harness?

XBFred
05-30-2007, 04:25 AM
finally figured it out, was not holding the main button long enough. I was clicking it but not holding it. Now have access to all my menus.. it is sweet

PaRaGoNViCtiM
05-30-2007, 03:23 PM
I do the pioneer D3 w/ nav and ipod for $1000 at the shop much better then the factory option.
That's exactly right James. I'll be calling to make an appointment very soon!

mikemann
06-01-2007, 05:21 AM
Fred - what do you think of the premium vs stock radio in terms of ipod control.

any chance of some pics?

Thanks!

-Mike

XBFred
06-01-2007, 05:28 AM
If you just need ipod control I so car I think the base is a little easier, even though the button is on the far side, it is easier to use and control. I also like the simple display of the base, just a little better. I wanted the RCA outs that's why I got it. I also like the blue led on it.

The big single button of the premium is a little finicky for my taste, but it is still a great radio and the speed of the ipod interface on both of them is fantastic.

I don't think it is worth $389 over the base.

mikemann
06-01-2007, 05:34 AM
hmmm...I've been thinking if it might be better to just go with an aftermarket pioneer radio instead. I would love the extra cubby from a single din radio and would rather have my ipod stored there instead.

I think the current ipod cable and hookup is sort of cruddy, it seems like the cable and ipod will be in the way.

ToeCutter05
06-03-2007, 05:23 PM
hmmm...I've been thinking if it might be better to just go with an aftermarket pioneer radio instead. I would love the extra cubby from a single din radio and would rather have my ipod stored there instead.

I think the current ipod cable and hookup is sort of cruddy, it seems like the cable and ipod will be in the way.

The premium unit IMHO works MUCH better for iPod than the base unit.

You have three lines showing when you scroll thru artisis/playlists vs. one line on the base.

I stow my iPod in the drink holder, head down while plugged in. It doesn't get in the way really. the iPod cable is short and there's not much dangling after it's hooked up.

I lived with the base for about a week before getting the premium and I'm not looking back. It's MUCH easier to use with iPod and the premiums are CHEAP on eBay right now (if you can find one).

BTW, stupid easy to install, took less than 10 mins start to finish.

Pop off two trim pieces (no tools required, bare hands), remove the four 10mm bolts and it's out, reverse for install and you're done.

Too easy! :clap:

RollthewindowsDown
06-05-2007, 02:31 AM
i would love to see pictures as well paweeeze

ToeCutter05
06-05-2007, 04:45 PM
Here are a few pics of the Premium with iPod.

http://img73.imageshack.us/img73/9391/img0765cd7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)


http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/9578/img0768zw5.jpg (http://imageshack.us)


http://img512.imageshack.us/img512/5118/img0764me7.jpg (http://imageshack.us)

mikemann
06-05-2007, 04:57 PM
oh that is cool. I am sold!

Thank you!!!

billc
06-19-2007, 11:43 AM
There are two types of cables for the Scion Head Unit (T 1806) to ipod interface available on ebay.
Cable “SC12234” replaces the main harness wires that are missing on the 2005 Scions.
Cable “SC12235” connects directly to the head unit and connects to the ipod.
I have purchased both of these cables (for different applications) and they have worked great.
I am sure that they will also work with the new T 1808 & T 1809 head units.

crabbyman
06-25-2007, 08:49 PM
Ok..so I have an '06 Ipod unit. So I already have all the required wiring for the iPod part.

Is anything else required or is it just a direct swap?


What is different between the '06 and the new ones? Just a different style and different display? What is the difference between the base and the premium?

Is all this worth the $ to upgrade the '06 Ipod unit?

SmartAss, which HU do you have? The base or the premium? How much are you asking?

Groovymarlin
08-02-2007, 03:30 PM
How the HELL do you get those menus to show up on the premium system? When I attach my iPod, the very first track on the thing starts playing and they play in order, or I can use the random button on the stereo. I can scroll back and forth through the songs but can't seem to access any menus (artist, song, playlist, etc.). Naturally my dealer did not give me a manual for the premium audio system (grrr...they're supposed to get one for me soon).

mikemann
08-02-2007, 04:57 PM
Im not in front of the radio, but I believe you push in the navigation (round) dial. It will then go into the ipod menu just like if you were on your ipod.

Groovymarlin
08-02-2007, 05:07 PM
Thanks! I'll try it this afternoon.

I just LOVE that the xB has a real iPod interface. What a great feature!

JayP-XB
08-16-2007, 02:04 AM
[quote=mikemann]

BTW, stupid easy to install, took less than 10 mins start to finish.

Pop off two trim pieces (no tools required, bare hands), remove the four 10mm bolts and it's out, reverse for install and you're done.

Too easy! :clap:

What is the sequence to remove the trim pieces? I am going to try a DIY premium radio upgrade.

golfbiz
08-16-2007, 06:04 AM
I do the pioneer D3 w/ nav and ipod for $1000 at the shop much better then the factory option.
That's exactly right James. I'll be calling to make an appointment very soon!
no reason to spend $1k on the D3, you can get it for around $650 and it is a very simple install, even to tweak the wires to play while driving as there are plenty of posts describing how to do it.

http://www.millenniumcamera.com/viewproduct.aspx?id=3497491&l=Nextag