View Full Version : Automatic Sq shift


kyleng
06-03-2007, 02:03 AM
Anyone mass around with the auto sq shift ? what do you guys think ? kinda suck it only has 4 speeds !

JohnathonSull
06-05-2007, 01:53 AM
I thought it was cool at first, but didn't like the fact that I couldn't force it to downshift into higher rpms. The computer would ignore my downshifts, I don't remember what rpm I was doing when I tried to downshift, I think I was doing 40mph at 3500rpm in 3rd gear and tried to downshift to 2nd, at about 5500rpm and it wouldn't do it. Readline is 6800 I think, I'd haft to go check and I'm to lazy :P
In my 5-speed I can downshift to 2nd while doing 25 and only be at 3K rpm. the auto I think was at about 5K I think. I don't remember cuz I just test drove the auto, and bought the 5-speed. I wanted to force myself into higher rpms if I needed to.

amdforever
06-05-2007, 02:01 AM
I thought it was cool at first, but didn't like the fact that I couldn't force it to downshift into higher rpms. The computer would ignore my downshifts, I don't remember what rpm I was doing when I tried to downshift, I think I was doing 40mph at 3500rpm in 3rd gear and tried to downshift to 2nd, at about 5500rpm and it wouldn't do it. Readline is 6800 I think, I'd haft to go check and I'm to lazy :P
In my 5-speed I can downshift to 2nd while doing 25 and only be at 3K rpm. the auto I think was at about 5K I think. I don't remember cuz I just test drove the auto, and bought the 5-speed. I wanted to force myself into higher rpms if I needed to.

I hear ya, I test drove one and didn't really like the fact that it wouldn't downshift either. I love my tC for that feature it goes where I want it to go :P sometimes that may be bad though.

JohnathonSull
06-05-2007, 01:06 PM
Yea, no going from 4th to first while doing 60mph :rofl:

amdforever
06-05-2007, 01:13 PM
Lol your spot on man! I made a mistake and went to first instead of second....thank God for the shift delays :rofl: Saved myself a tranny because of it, was quick enough to get it back to "D" before it shifted.

JohnathonSull
06-05-2007, 09:46 PM
Yea, I almost put it into the wrong gear once, reverse :nails:

ebfoxbat
06-08-2007, 06:22 PM
You should read them manual about this, it's helpful. I force my xB to downshift ALL the time... 10 times a day. I've hardly used my brakes it's great!

If I'm on the highway at 65 mph in 4th gear I'll push it over to Sq and stomp on it at the same time. The lag for the transmission to drop into 3rd (which is what Sq starts in) is the same lag for the accelerator to open the throttle. That's my prefered method for highway passing. Plenty of pep.

I'll also drop her into 1st at 15mph or so if I know I'm going to accelerate hard. Much better pickup in 1st than 2nd :) I think the manual says 0-39mph in 1st then up to 60 or so in 2nd and up to 107 or so in 3rd which means you should always be able to downshift a gear from where you're at. No going into 2nd at 80 on the highway, you'll have to hit 60 before you drop it into 2nd.

techgeekwill
06-08-2007, 08:21 PM
Be careful downshifting too much. I'm sure Toyota had the best intentions, but this is an automatic tranny, not a sequential. Constant downshifting will cause heat which will in turn cause premature damage to the internal mechanisms in the transmission.

ebfoxbat
06-08-2007, 08:51 PM
3000-4000 RPM is 3000-4000 RPM doesn't matter if you're accelerating or decelerating. If I'm at 1500 RPM and shift down a gear I'll probably jump to 4000 RPM, which is fine.

I'll agree that high RPMs aren't good until the engine is broken in... that that's another thread.

farmerjohn
07-13-2007, 07:58 PM
I am trying to decide on automatic or 5sp. manual to bad they don't offer 5sp automatic. :yawn:

ebfoxbat
07-13-2007, 09:45 PM
No need for it really. Maybe a bit more mileage.

farmerjohn
07-14-2007, 08:25 AM
Well that is what I was thinking. Do you have an automatic? What is your mileage?

optikinescant
07-14-2007, 09:47 AM
I just filled up for the fourth time now and my avg. mpg is 30 on my automatic and that's surprisingly 75% city 25% highway driving.....

ebfoxbat
07-14-2007, 10:18 AM
You'll get ~30 mpg on the highway. I get 31 or so with a mostly 70 mph tank. I've gotten as bad as ~26 on an all city tank.

The EPA rating is something like 30 but keep in mind that is the *NEW* EPA rating system that is supposed to be accurate.

I do 0-60 in about 8 seconds give or take .5. That's pretty good for a box that gets 30 mpg.

What a turbocharger will do for mileage, I just can't say.

farmerjohn
07-14-2007, 04:19 PM
Thats really acceptable. I have a Honda insight that I love but I am a surfer and have to drive 125 miles to the beach and my other choice is my Nissan frontier 4x4 that only gets 17 mpg. I just can't keep using that , need it for the farm, so the insight has to go, just not enough room.

ebfoxbat
07-14-2007, 05:08 PM
Boards should fit fine on top. I'm still waiting for Thule to release a rack for the xB2.

farmerjohn
07-14-2007, 05:34 PM
Try Rackattack I thunk they are Nation wide they will put a track on top guarentee not to leak

ebfoxbat
07-14-2007, 08:02 PM
I'm waiting for Thule's that clips on the door jam. No leeks there.