View Full Version : for those of you that have NAVI


brekdown59
06-19-2007, 06:51 PM
I WILL be getting the xB2g and I am thinking of getting the navigation... never had a car with it....and have really needed something like that... I was at the dealership and they had one in a car, but i took it for a small test drive and didnt have time to play... anyways my questions to those of you that have it is...


worth the money?

what are some little known things that it can do that I (or others) might not know.? (asking because I believe I saw a calendar, and something about oil change)

overall opinion?

feel free to tell me whatever you might know..

thanks in advace.

L4rry_B1rd
06-19-2007, 06:59 PM
I always rec aftermarket since they are cheaper and usually have more features. if your into audio, then you also get better SQ...

brekdown59
06-19-2007, 07:18 PM
okay sweet I will keep that in mind...

V8Goat
06-19-2007, 07:22 PM
I have owned two portable nav systems and the Mio C310x I own now has been great, I have tested it a couple of times on large cities and it has always gotten me there, you can move it from car to car, use it while walking, or on the bycicle or motorcycle, even hide it when you think you should. All for $150 in CC. I would save the $2,000 and get a portable one, and if you really think you need an integrated one later on, there is alway aftermarket. My $.0199

L4rry_B1rd
06-19-2007, 07:31 PM
thats true but Google Maps on the Blackberry (free) is just as good when your on foot...

midtowndesi
06-19-2007, 07:54 PM
click on the link in my signature to see my laptop setup in my box. that's what i use for navigation and music and it absolutely f*cking rocks my socks!
- sh00kie

brekdown59
06-19-2007, 08:03 PM
well i am looking right online for some right now... however... does the available navi have voice recongnition?

brekdown59
06-20-2007, 08:44 PM
well does anyone have any recomendations for IN DASH systems with navi... been looking

brekdown59
06-21-2007, 02:44 AM
ANYONE????

skullsandcandy
06-21-2007, 04:08 AM
I really like the Alpine setup but its not quite all in dash and thats why I like it. Check out the blackbird on Alpines site.

tahoepimp
06-21-2007, 05:58 AM
ive got avic-D3 flush mounted in mine and it works great got it new for 750 dvd nav the works

V8Goat
06-21-2007, 12:11 PM
Some guys at Avic411 recomend the Kenwood DNX7100 because it uses Garmin's navigation software which cost about $50-$100 to update vs. ~$300 to update for the Pioneer D3 system. Another reason why I still recomend a portable cheap system is because most of us only use it on long trips and we are at a point in time where integrated in dash system prices are dropping like flies, a year ago who would have thought that you could buy a new double din Pioneer gps in dash system for ~$700. If you wait until prices stabilize you would get an awsome system for your money.(sorry I am an accountant)

midtowndesi
06-21-2007, 01:36 PM
^^^ exactly the reason why i use navigation via a laptop vs. a portable or in-dash unit. not only is the cost high, why spend $700 or more on an in dash unit which is a b!tch to update? with my laptop, updating is as easy as taking the laptop (which is removable - duh) back into my house, updating the software, and thats it!

certainly, having a laptop or tablet (like i have) in the car isn't the CLEANEST and MOST BEAUTIFUL SHOW READY SETUP out there - but when im going traveling to a new place, i dont give a flying f___ about cosmetics. i just want a cheap solution that would bail me out if i got lost.

booting up
http://home.nyc.rr.com/singhconsulting/misc/carputer/2/b.JPG

watching boondocks
http://home.nyc.rr.com/singhconsulting/misc/carputer/2/456.JPG

night shot from outside the car
http://home.nyc.rr.com/singhconsulting/misc/carputer/ns1.JPG

shot from inside the car - brightness was on high - i was in park
http://home.nyc.rr.com/singhconsulting/misc/carputer/ns3.JPG


the fact that i also have a ton of music + movies on my laptop -that i can hear all through my factory speakers - is icing on the cake! mmm cake!
the clarity of a huge 12" screen (although probably illegal) at night is absolutely magnificent. when i turn the screen brightness down all the way to the lowest, it's absolutely fine to drive with it at night - not too bright, you can still focus on the road..

just sharin',
- sh00k

tahoepimp
06-21-2007, 02:30 PM
thats all good it does seem to fit well there but whatever you like i travel enough to justify spending on the in dash plus i need it to be something show worthy and updates arnt that bad just need a friend with the new map disk ive got a buddy with a stereo shop that will take care of me on those

midtowndesi
06-21-2007, 02:34 PM
^^^ that is a good point. i stay local most of the time. i usually go to new places maybe 10% out of all the times i use my box. i could def. see how, if you travel to unfamiliar places much more often - that an indash setup would be ideal!

just for some ideas, take a look at the ICE AND INTERIOR section of the gen 1 boards on scionlife. i have seen tons of people with various diff. in-dash setups - from the pioneers, to the factory/camry navigation and everything else in between.
- sh00k

brekdown59
06-21-2007, 03:07 PM
well thanks guys you have givin me some ideas and i will go from here....

one more question... talking bout map dvd's does it use any map dvd? or does it have to be a certain one?

midtowndesi
06-21-2007, 03:48 PM
^ certain/specific MAP DVDS based on your navigation system. this is typically car-manufacturer based. IE - 2007 maps for your honda, or 2007 maps for your audi. usually companies use 1 type of navigation system all-throughout their cars so they are the same systems.
- sh00k

brekdown59
06-21-2007, 04:41 PM
thats good to know thats shook

tahoepimp
06-21-2007, 09:02 PM
ill post some pics of min tonight so you can compare what you like sorry its a little dark between the limo tint all the way around and the black paint for the center console its hard to see but nice a clean flush mounted
http://i123.photobucket.com/albums/o300/Tahoepimp/l_7856621fc6f5d1c233662f98cf1faa2c.jpg

brekdown59
07-05-2007, 02:38 PM
tahoepimp can you tell me some of the pluses of the avic d3 that the stock navi doesnt have....besides the price.... i am kinda curious..... does it give you roads instead of turn left now....

also if you are just starting up your car will it have the map up. still even with the dvd not in the slot.

tahoepimp
07-05-2007, 03:29 PM
so far it will give you roads and exits if your on say the highway other than that its displays the road youll be turning on in bold letters and then tells you when your at 1/2 mile then when your ready to turn

as far as the navi with there being only one slot for disc if you have the disc in navi pops up and is ready to go if you dont have it in it only takes 15-20 secs to load if the last thing you have up is navi and have a destination programed in even if you dont have the disc in it will go back to that route when turned back on

which if you have an ipod for your music and vids youll never have to take the navi disc out also the stock navigation doesnt have pre-outs from what ive been told plus a price tag of 1900 dollars is a bit pricey

i like the fact that you can customise the buttons that arnt touchkey to just about any color variation possiable in order to match your cars scheme

probally one of the best units ive owned of course you have all your tweak settings EQ,HPF,etc. but also the unit is quicker than most of the ones ive had before very good value IMO hope that helps if you need more feel free to email me direct i can get you pics of the navi working if you need Tiburonshark360@hotmail.com

xxxb2
07-05-2007, 05:15 PM
There's two slots in the navi, cd and dvd.

tahoepimp
07-05-2007, 06:02 PM
not on the Avic-D3 there isnt

k1tz1e
08-04-2007, 05:13 PM
I have the stock navigation unit and there is a calandar, it shows your maintenance schedule and theres a bunch of other doo dads and thinga magigs.

The car automatically has a "dummy light" that comes on every time your due for an oil change. I was told that you have to either come in to have them turn it off or do it yourself. But there is a hazard light that already tells you when your due for oil changes atleast.

BUT if you dont have the time or know how to wire around the safety features your probably better off with after market. Its pretty useless without over riding everything. You cant change music , map a route or do just about anything while in motion. To play a DVD you have to be in park.

The only thing is I'm not sure if the ipod/aux adapters in the console will work or the buttons on the steering wheel. Thats ultimately what made me stick with stock. I had heard that you could make one or the other work but getting them both to adapt to the aftermarket stereo was slim.

As far as I know I thought you had to keep the dvd in for the navigation?

BloodHoundFan
08-04-2007, 07:22 PM
Yes the DVD needs to be IN for navigation.