Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

DIY: relocating iPod jack to armrest. [[56k beware]]

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2007, 04:15 AM
Scikotics
SL Member

Default DIY: relocating iPod jack to armrest. [[56k beware]]

I've been wanting to move the iPod jack since the day I bought my xB. I didn't see any DIY yet so here ya go. I've never done one of these before so hopefully it's not too long. Tell me if you see any problems or have questions.

fig. 0.1

fig. 0.2

Tools:
-Screwdriver- phillips and flat
-Socket wrench, extender, and 10mm socket. (if you don't have this use pliers, it will just be harder)
-masking tape or something else to cover the head of the screwdriver
-Dremel power tool to cut holes (or really any other way you would like to cut it)
-Epoxy glue (I used Loctite Gel Epoxy because it's thick and will hold in place until dry.

Part:
-The only part you need for this mod is the covers that will fill the hole where the jacks are originally located
-Part# 55539-52060-B0
-You can order them at your dealership and they cost $3.83 a piece. They may have to order them so go by the dealership a couple days before you plan to do the mod.

fig. 0.3

Key:
Upwards= up towards the sky
Front= towards the front of the car
Back= towards the back of the car

1. Disassembling the center armrest/console

-First thing is to remove the cup holder tray. If you pull upwards, where the arrow is in the picture, the cup holder tray will pop out pretty easily. This part hinges on the front so it's best to pop it from the back near the arrow first then pull it up and forward. You may have to pull up the parking brake to pull the cup holder tray all the way off.

fig. 1.1

-After removing the cup tray you're going to need the socket wrench. Remove the bolt indicated by the arrow in the pic below.

fig. 1.2

-Lift the little carpet piece from inside the armrest to reveal these two bolts, remove these also.

fig. 1.3