View Full Version : Scion Navigation System Subwoofer Install DIY - W/ Nav Fix


insaneintenti0n
08-27-2007, 05:19 PM
Took care of this today, so, why not help out you all.

Disclaimer: Be Careful. Disconnect the battery before you start. If you break your nav system doing this... well, you did it wrong.

Helpful Links:
Toyota Hiring Harness Diagram (http://www.installdr.com/Harnesses/Toyota-Wiring.pdf) - Look at the '87+ one (duh). Someone posted the old one somewhere else, kinda threw me off.
Line Output Converter (http://www.crutchfield.com/S-4gUAdbcb2l4/cgi-bin/ProdView.asp?search=SLC%2D4&i=142SLC4)- This is what I used

Steps:
1) Pull out headunit. (If you can't get this far, stop, seriously, get someone else to do it)
Picture of back of HU (haven't found a good one anywhere else)
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b341/insaneintenti0n/xBSubInstall/IMG_6242.jpg

Plugs you'll use Left to Right...
[Left Most Plug]: 12v+ ignition wire used for trigger wire
[Next]: Rear Speaker Wires
[Empty]
[Next]: Contains Purple Wire to cut and put switch for Randode's Nav fix.
: Not used

[Top Plug]: Has red parking brake wire to be grounded, and green wire to be cut (Also only for Randode's Nav fix.)

[b]2) You can go any which direction you want here, but lets just start with wiring the line output converter.
You need to/should tap into the rear speakers, so following the Wiring Harness Diagram above, find the Rear Right/Left speaker wires.

For you lazies it's in the plug with 5 wires:
White - Rear Right -
Red - Rear Right +
Yellow - Rear Left -
Black - Rear Left +

The Line output converter comes w/ a book for where to plug in each thing, but again:
A5 - Left+
A6 - Left-
A7 - Right+
A8 - Right-

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b341/insaneintenti0n/xBSubInstall/IMG_6248.jpg

3) Wire the trigger (or whatever you wanna call it) wire. The one that'll tell the amp to turn on. It goes to the Gray 12V+ Ignition Wire on the 10 pin plug.

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b341/insaneintenti0n/xBSubInstall/IMG_6255.jpg

4) Run the Power Wire from the battery. There's part of the wiring harness running through the firewall above the gas pedal. Cut the nipple off the part in the engine bay side, and shove the wire through there.

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b341/insaneintenti0n/xBSubInstall/IMG_6259.jpg

5) RCA Cables. Connect em to the Line Out Converter and run em to the trunk. [No picture]

6) Ground. There are several bolts in the trunk near the spare tire. Pick one.

http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b341/insaneintenti0n/xBSubInstall/IMG_6257.jpg

7) Plug in the amp/sub/etc & test.

My ghetto rig for the moment (ignore that the carpet hadn't been put back down), need to build something sometime.
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b341/insaneintenti0n/xBSubInstall/IMG_6258.jpg



And some pictures for Randode's Nav System bypass (missing the last step, need my wife to tell me which is the purple wire - damn colorblindness :( )
UPDATE: Purple Wire found... It's in the connector w/o the Blue wire.

Red Parking break wire moved and grounded:
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b341/insaneintenti0n/xBSubInstall/IMG_6261.jpg

Green Wire to cut:
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b341/insaneintenti0n/xBSubInstall/IMG_6264.jpg

Cut Purple Wire and add a switch:
http://i22.photobucket.com/albums/b341/insaneintenti0n/xBSubInstall/IMG_6265.jpg



Enjoy!

insaneintenti0n
09-11-2007, 01:11 PM
Gonna bump this up to the top real quick.

Surprised I have 300+ views and no comments, lol. Either I did this perfectly and no one has questions, or I did a crappy job and people can't stand to look at it. :rofl:

RockBlocker
09-11-2007, 09:27 PM
I think you did a great job showing and explaining. Maybe others are in awe of what you did or too scared to do it

SLO-BOX
09-11-2007, 11:27 PM
It couldn't be more clear to me. Great job! Looks exactly like what I want to do as soon as I save $ for my sub/woof, or rims/tires, or springs, or...heck, I've only had mine since 09/08/07and I have a mile long list of things I want to do to her...

marcemarcxB08
09-12-2007, 09:09 AM
may i ask what is going on in picture 6 with that 8 gauge wire hooked up to a 16 gauge wire? i see its power but you really shouldnt do that u have a thick wire with power being drawn from the battery to a thin wire which could get smoked if too much current is running through

insaneintenti0n
09-12-2007, 10:09 AM
At first I thought you were talking about the remote wire, since it's a much larger gauge than what's on the wiring harness....

Though yea, I know what you're talking about after looking at the pictures. It's the way this amp is. It's quite old. Instead of having the 3 places where you'd just connect your Power, Ground, Remote and hold em in with a screw, it's an adapter cable that plugs into the amp, where you connect the wires coming from the adapter to the wires you added elsewhere throughout your system. I ran a system on that amp for 4 years in my other car with no problems. And don't worry, the final connections weren't with electrical tape... I just wanted to test the system before everything was connected.

At some point I'll build a box, maybe get a new amp, even though this one puts out more than enough with having an open trunk.

And thanks for all the praise guys.

jimmbomb
09-19-2007, 07:48 PM
good job, insaneinteni0n....... I would have thunk that dammn SCion would'ave put line out's on that dammn radio in the first place.. what were they thinkig???.. jh

ToFu_Blk
09-20-2007, 12:07 AM
Hey guy quick Question I bought the extended warranty with my new BSP XB and i wanna do my own DIY amp and sub. Does it void any part of my warranty. I don't wanna have the dealer do it cause its gonna cost a grip and i want the learning experience. What does everyone think?

jimmbomb
09-20-2007, 12:42 AM
Hey guy quick Question I bought the extended warranty with my new BSP XB and i wanna do my own DIY amp and sub. Does it void any part of my warranty. I don't wanna have the dealer do it cause its gonna cost a grip and i want the learning experience. What does everyone think?

Dont know about that. BUT I do have a comment on your Extended warranty price you paid...
read page 2 of this thread....
http://www.scionlife.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=2870582#2870582

remember.. you DO NOT have to purchase the warranty from the dealer who sold you your scion.. You can buy it anywhere!!! & Prices DO differ for the exact same warranties.

BY the way...
I have done this stuff myself..
installed spoiler, changed head unit, door speakers, installed illuminated door sills, changed guage cluster lights & H/AC contol lights.. & a few other things.. I am confident that Toyota had BETTER still stand behind their warranty.... Even though I did the stuff myself....
good luck... jh

ToFu_Blk
09-20-2007, 03:55 PM
Thanks for the advise, and I'll definitely try to shop around for cheaper warranty.

jimmbomb
09-20-2007, 06:59 PM
We've donte the shopping for you.. you WONT find a cheaper deal than this.. Now I aint making any commish from this or referrals or anything.. just trying to help you guys get the most of your money.. check the above post & click on the link.. read the thread. & call Troy at Toyota of Greefield . He is the real deal & the cheapest...
I mean, lets say you paid 17,300 for your scion.. & the dealer across the street will sell you the same one for 16500.. Who are you gonna buy from???
the guy across the street?? BUT only you cant visit his shop, you have to call him.. Same car.... returnable..... 700 bucks cheaper..... no brainer

unity303
10-03-2007, 04:28 PM
insaneintenti0n, just wanted to say thanks for sharing the info and pics!! (I never saw Randode's guide, only yours). I took care of it yesterday and it was surprisingly easy to do based on your post. I don't think I could have done it without the pictures you took. Though I think I might have benefited if it were a post on the nav bypass all on its own, sometimes the sub/amp instructions threw me off. :)

CUTTING THE GREEN WIRE:
I had a bit of trouble figuring out which one was the right one. So hopefully this helps the next person. On cutting the green wire, the one you want to cut is ALONE (not tied in a big group to other wires, it's just on its own as it gets tucked behind the steering wheel). Also, it has little spackles of silver on it every inch or so.

http://www.antomic.net/temp_xB/scionlife/nav%20bypass%20-%20green%20+%20silver%20wire.jpg

insaneintenti0n
10-03-2007, 05:06 PM
Thanks for that more clear picture, unity303. As i'm sure you noticed, getting a camera there wasn't impossible, but wasn't fun.

Glad i could help out, this 'mod' has come on handy on several occasions. Like alleviating my boredom for my hour+ drive to work and from work.

plipto
11-09-2007, 05:41 AM
Just wondering about location on some of these shots? I know the red wire is under/near the parking break. I know the purple wire that needs a switch is behind the head unit/nav system. Can the lone green wire be cut behind the head unit as well or is it located behind the fuse box?

unity303
11-09-2007, 08:59 AM
Can the lone green wire be cut behind the head unit as well or is it located behind the fuse box?

Plipto, I am positive there is a green wire you can clip from the head unit, but I've never seen any info on where that green wire connects back to the head unit. I guess if you had a voltmeter (or whatever they're called) you might be able to perform tests, but I would just play it safe and go behind the fuse box. Good luck!

plipto
11-12-2007, 01:12 AM
Thanks unity303...Im still reluctant to tear apart the whole console and head unit to do this fix....but I'll give it a go.
Thanks

Zsanz
11-15-2007, 02:14 AM
dam where was this thread when i needed it ! nice write up

bashor1
02-17-2008, 04:46 AM
I really want to thank you for posting the nav fix. Make's it look easy. Does this also fix the DVD player so it will play in drive???? If not how do I di that???

lvbitwiz
02-17-2008, 05:41 AM
I really want to thank you for posting the nav fix. Make's it look easy. Does this also fix the DVD player so it will play in drive???? If not how do I di that???

yes, this will fix that too

CIONIDE
02-17-2008, 06:51 AM
What are people doing trying to watch a DVD while driving? :silly:

Seems a lot like the lady who put a hot cup of McDonald's coffee between her legs while driving,
then was surprised when she burnt herself. :no:

I repeat: Common sense is not common... :rolling:

bashor1
02-17-2008, 05:12 PM
I want the front to be able to play for my wife while driving 11 hrs on vacation....

CIONIDE
02-17-2008, 08:03 PM
I knew it had to be something like that. :relief:

bashor1
02-17-2008, 08:17 PM
I been studing this to long....There are two different ways from what I see. For the dvd player to work while driving you ground the red wire? and fro the nav fix you cut the green and extend both to a toggle switch? Is this correct? The purple wire is throwing me off I guess.

lvbitwiz
02-17-2008, 11:04 PM
I been studing this to long....There are two different ways from what I see. For the dvd player to work while driving you ground the red wire? and fro the nav fix you cut the green and extend both to a toggle switch? Is this correct? The purple wire is throwing me off I guess.

do all of it, in addtion to the dvd, you'll also get full function of the nav and ipod controls, for you wife to use of course

bashor1
02-18-2008, 12:13 AM
I plan to do it, I just wanted to know if the the wires I mentioned was right. I looked under the dash and above the fuse box and didn't see the green wire, is it above the stering colume? Thanks

insaneintenti0n
02-23-2008, 05:47 PM
I got your message, i'll just post this here for everyone else, you have the purple and green backwards

Red Wire - Parking brake sensor - Ground it

Purple Wire - speed sensor - Switch it (cut the wire, put one end to one part of the switch, the other end to the other side - i used extra wire to extend it out to my glove box - though honestly, i NEVER turn the switch back on on the GPS works fine w/o it, it's the speed sensor, the only issue is tunnels and HEAVY cloudy cover)

Green Wire - um, reverse? - Cut it and walk away. (it's UNDER the steering column, near the fuse box near where your left knee would be while driving.

DONE!

bashor1
02-23-2008, 07:00 PM
Ok, Thank you very much, I may try to get this done today.

Creative626
02-23-2008, 10:04 PM
on my car my green wire ran behind the glove box and my purple wire was yellow. is there a way i can just run it to like my rear defrost button or something? i dont want to add ANOTHER button. would like to just tap into something else.

toyota_scion_tc
05-30-2008, 01:09 PM
I got your message, i'll just post this here for everyone else, you have the purple and green backwards

Red Wire - Parking brake sensor - Ground it

Purple Wire - speed sensor - Switch it (cut the wire, put one end to one part of the switch, the other end to the other side - i used extra wire to extend it out to my glove box - though honestly, i NEVER turn the switch back on on the GPS works fine w/o it, it's the speed sensor, the only issue is tunnels and HEAVY cloudy cover)

Green Wire - um, reverse? - Cut it and walk away. (it's UNDER the steering column, near the fuse box near where your left knee would be while driving.

DONE!

I think I get what you are saying, so the additional harness is for the dvd safety feature and for the speed sensor? Where exactly does the purple wire connect and will it work without messing with this? Thank you.
Sorry I am extreamly tired been in Iraq working 12's for too long.

insaneintenti0n
05-30-2008, 01:16 PM
Just did this on shasta mc nasty's '08 xB last month. Found out there a few steps you can ignore completely... Particularly if you did the nav install yourself. Which is what it sounds like.

Purple - Ignore... don't even bother connecting it
Green - Ignore
Red - Ground it anywhere

that SHOULD work. You should be able to watch the DVDs anywhere, the GPS should work (except when in tunnels because you don't have the speed sensor hooked up), and you can modify your GPS destination while moving.

Hustler74
05-30-2008, 01:20 PM
I got a question for ya..I dont have the Nav, but the premium hu.. is the amp remote turn on still the Gray wire?? I would think its the same, but....Thanks..

insaneintenti0n
05-30-2008, 01:36 PM
i would like to say yes... the wiring harness should be the same regardless of the HU you have.

Point_Oh
05-31-2008, 02:43 AM
BY the way...
I have done this stuff myself..
installed spoiler, changed head unit, door speakers, installed illuminated door sills, changed guage cluster lights & H/AC contol lights.. & a few other things.. I am confident that Toyota had BETTER still stand behind their warranty.... Even though I did the stuff myself....
good luck... jh

If you're talking about the VSAs sold as Toyota extended warranty you need to make sure that you read everything in your agreement before you talk about what they BETTER do.

They only cover OEM parts installed by the dealer. After market radios and speakers are NOT covered nor is any damage to other parts cause by those parts, ditto with the new lights in your cluster and AC.

I say all this not to be a dick but because I don't want to hear you cry when you call me asking why I denied your claim.

mclifford
06-12-2008, 12:13 AM
Just wanted to let everyone know the NAV fix works for the 09 as well. The only problem I have run into is finding a switch. Does anyone know where I can find a switch for an 09. The O8 switches do not fit. My dealer told me they wanted $85 for 1 switch.

robertjcurrie
06-24-2008, 04:03 PM
I did the Navi Fix last night... Took a little over an hour.... thanks for the help with the pictures...

Roadster_fan
06-26-2008, 12:16 AM
Just did this on shasta mc nasty's '08 xB last month. Found out there a few steps you can ignore completely... Particularly if you did the nav install yourself. Which is what it sounds like.

Purple - Ignore... don't even bother connecting it
Green - Ignore
Red - Ground it anywhere

that SHOULD work. You should be able to watch the DVDs anywhere, the GPS should work (except when in tunnels because you don't have the speed sensor hooked up), and you can modify your GPS destination while moving.

Just to let you guys know I did this the other day and it worked but every time the car started to move over 10mph it would stop displaying the video, I think you still have to do the purple line (VSS). I'm going to get a switch and try it this tomorrow or friday but other then that this thread is very helpful! Thanks!!

ryno
08-25-2008, 02:24 AM
i too just did this. i grounded the red wire left the green cut and also the purple. navi works good but when a movie dvd is playing it cuts out when you move, so i'm thinking the purple needs to be switched as mentioned.

Sjakemer11
09-02-2008, 09:01 AM
What's the purpose of grounding the red wire for the parking brake. My friend with an 08 tc just cut the wire and his works perfectly fine. Is it a warranty issue or is it a model issue. It doesnt seem hard to do, I was just wondering if anyone had an answer to that

insaneintenti0n
09-10-2008, 12:35 AM
the parking break supplies a ground signal when it's applied to the nav to let it know it's parked. if it's constantly grounded, then it'll always see that signal.

if your friend's works, then yay.

gerardo_tx
01-06-2010, 01:29 AM
nice i just did this to my navi and it worked but i had to use the switch cuz the navigation never responded but yeah THANK YOU !!!!! ohh and the 08 tc has a yellow wire.

toyotamastertechnician
01-06-2010, 09:46 PM
Dont know about that. BUT I do have a comment on your Extended warranty price you paid...
read page 2 of this thread....
http://www.scionlife.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=2870582#2870582

remember.. you DO NOT have to purchase the warranty from the dealer who sold you your scion.. You can buy it anywhere!!! & Prices DO differ for the exact same warranties.

BY the way...
I have done this stuff myself..
installed spoiler, changed head unit, door speakers, installed illuminated door sills, changed guage cluster lights & H/AC contol lights.. & a few other things.. I am confident that Toyota had BETTER still stand behind their warranty.... Even though I did the stuff myself....
good luck... jh

that warranty you got blows, .. most are 100k mile warranties from toyota extra care.. not just a 75k.. fyi...

CIONIDE
01-07-2010, 12:41 AM
that warranty you got blows, .. most are 100k mile warranties from toyota extra care.. not just a 75k.. fyi...
The one he got is the Toyota Extra Care. They are available in a variety of year/mileage combinations, depending on your needs, which I'm sure you're already aware of. IIRC, 7 years was the maximum time, and if he knows for a fact that he will hit the 7 year mark before reaching 75k miles, why pay the extra cost for 100k miles? To use myself as an example, I chose the 100k miles, but I drive 24k per year so I went with the 6yr/100k instead of the 7yr/100k... same 100k service contract (technically not a warranty), but I'm going to hit the mileage limit long before the 6 year time limit; same mileage coverage, but at a cheaper price... paying extra for coverage that you will never get to use - now that blows. :P

BTW, I bought mine from Troy at Greenfield Toyota also, and he quoted me $810 for the 7yr/100k. If jimmbomb had purchased that, and ends up with less than 75k miles when he hits 7 years, then he would have paid $240 more for no additional coverage. Financially he made the right choice if he averages 10k miles/year or less.

toyotamastertechnician
01-07-2010, 01:28 AM
most people do hit it though is my point.. in 7 years most are at 100k easy... but most problems start at or after 75k is my point.... and for a few hundred dollars more,, well you covered for 25k more crucial miles....

CIONIDE
01-07-2010, 02:02 AM
most people do hit it though is my point.. in 7 years most are at 100k easy... but most problems start at or after 75k is my point.... and for a few hundred dollars more,, well you covered for 25k more crucial miles....
I entirely agree for those that drive more (which is why I went with 100k), but I know jimmbomb examined his own driving/mileage and knew that he would not put on more than 75k in 7 years, so for him the extra mileage coverage & cost would have been a complete waste of money.

Keep up your postings, they're usually full of win! :clap:

onelawdawg
02-05-2010, 03:16 PM
nice i just did this to my navi and it worked but i had to use the switch cuz the navigation never responded but yeah THANK YOU !!!!! ohh and the 08 tc has a yellow wire.

I also have an 08 Tc that I would like to get the navi fix for. I installed the SNS on my own and have no clue where the speed and reverse wires are on the Tc. I just hooked the brake wire up and the dvd works when the parking brake is on.

Anyone know where the speed and reverse wires are on the Tc? Once I am able to get these connected, I can follow the rest of the directions regarding the cut and switch. Thanks.

buickid
02-05-2010, 06:56 PM
I also have an 08 Tc that I would like to get the navi fix for. I installed the SNS on my own and have no clue where the speed and reverse wires are on the Tc. I just hooked the brake wire up and the dvd works when the parking brake is on.

Anyone know where the speed and reverse wires are on the Tc? Once I am able to get these connected, I can follow the rest of the directions regarding the cut and switch. Thanks.

Theres a perfectly good tC section that would probably be able to help you better :cool:

SamCarroll
04-10-2011, 04:23 AM
Just did this today while i installed my amp and subs. Worked like a charm, thanks!

JoeXB
08-18-2011, 02:46 AM
Just wondering what size gauge wire did you use from the battery to the amp? and did you put an in line fuse if so what size fuse? :confused:

nakamaco
08-18-2011, 05:36 AM
Just wondering what size gauge wire did you use from the battery to the amp? and did you put an in line fuse if so what size fuse? :confused:

I used a 8 gauge wire, and no fuse. I don't know why I didn't use a fuse but that how I ran it.