Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

critique my speaker box design please

Search this Thread

Old 09-12-2007, 06:23 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Utah Scions
SL Member

Default critique my speaker box design please

Hello. I've never built a box before, so I am planning this carefully, and your input will be appreciated. I've got the materials covered, but it's the dimensions I am concerned about. I have a polk momo 12, the manufacture website says airspace should be 2.25 cubic feet, or 3888 cubic inches. My box design gives me 2520 cubic inches. The sub will be mounted reverse because the front in ugly, and I think it will look cool. Will these dimensions and shape result in normal operation, or is this overkill, let me know. The main area of concern is whether or no the box is too shallow, I will be going with wither 7 or 8 inches. Calculations are for 8 inches... please refer to picture for a better idea of what I'm doing.

*I took my silly picture down, lol*
Old 09-12-2007, 07:02 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Utah Scions
SL Member

will the reverse top mount give less performance than a regular mount, firing towards the rear of the car?
Old 09-12-2007, 08:06 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Hey dude, this box is all wrong.

First, this subwoofer requires a sealed box size of .88 cubic feet for a single 12". I think what you were looking at is the VAS which is the volume of acoustic suspension, don't worry about that spec. The proper sealed box size is .88 cubic feet and for your sub to sound best, you need to hit that number on the nose. When you originally thought the box volume was 2.25 cubic feet and your box volume was way off, you just can't do that. I try not to be off by more than a hundreths of a cubic foot.