View Full Version : Cleaning the engine?

TriOpticon
10-19-2007, 06:46 PM
My xB2 is about 2 months old. I love it. With my last car, I never cared about how the engine looked when the hood was opened so for 9 years I never cleaned it. For some reason, I care about how the engine looks in my xB2.

So, how does one keep the engine clean without ruining things?

Thanks.

uberspeed
10-19-2007, 08:15 PM
Engine Brite

jallamas
10-20-2007, 02:48 AM
There is some stuff from Lowes, it smell like oranges and works great. Make sure you cover alt and the car is cold.

John

ScionFred
10-20-2007, 04:31 AM
I just drive to the local car wash, use their engine cleaner and rinse it off. I've been doing this for 20 years now and never had a problem.

OldYeller
10-20-2007, 06:43 AM
Since cars no longer have points and condensers you do not have to worry so much about getting the engine wet. If you keep after it--it is not hard to keep the engine bay clean. Most dirt/grease will just wipe off if you pay attention to it.

dgenem
10-20-2007, 10:15 PM
Since cars no longer have points and condensers you do not have to worry so much about getting the engine wet. If you keep after it--it is not hard to keep the engine bay clean. Most dirt/grease will just wipe off if you pay attention to it.

Same here. Both my 06 gen1 Scion and my 01 Corolla I wash the engine with the same soap I use on the outside. I have over 150k miles on Corolla, and 18k on Scion.

I do it while it's cold, light rinse, little scrubbing, then another quick rinse. I wipe it down, let it dry then start it up. I haven't had any problems from this. Even when I do not wait the two hours.

I realized after I somehow splashed mud way up into the top of the hood of my Corolla that Toyota seems to build them pretty well with major splashing in mind.

I don't trust degreasers, they can get in places that need their grease.

whitebreadbox
10-21-2007, 11:37 AM