Second Generation 2008-2015 [AZE151]

Using Engine Brake in Auto

Search this Thread

Old 10-23-2007, 03:20 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Using Engine Brake in Auto

In the S-Mode, if you lower your gear to slow down instead of braking does this hurt the engine in anyway? I make sure not to drop too low too fast to avoid higher RPM's and such, but sometimes it just feels wrong, lol. I will usually use this to slow down coming off a freeway sometimes and stuff like that. Is this bad for the engine? It mentions it in the manual but im new to the S-Mode and never have touched a manual, so I want to hear your input before I go using it anymore!

From what I understand, as long as you don't redline (or get too close) you won't hurt the engine, and even if you wanted to, the computer would over-ride you... Such as when I was going 70mph on the freeway and accidently bumped my car into reverse.. I was scared to death and slammed it back into drive ASAP... Luckily, I think the car knew and never did anything, whew!

Thanks!
Old 10-23-2007, 03:42 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

wtf?

are you serious? no, engine braking doesn't hurt then engine unless you downshift too low and over rev the engine which is only possible with a real manual transmission. as in one that comes with a clutch pedal.

when you downshift in s-mode, the computer takes a moment to determine what rpm you will be in when you downshift, and if it is too high, it will simply refuse you and stay in the gear it is.

as for accidentally shifting into reverse, no car, auto, semi auto or manual should let you shift into reverse while the car is in motion. it should only let you go from drive into neutral, which is probably what happened, you went from drive into neutral, and probably thought it was reverse. and freaked out and put it back in drive.