Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Help with 4 channel amp

Old 01-06-2008, 11:11 PM

Default Help with 4 channel amp

Well after spending all day outside and tearing the car apart, i have finished installing new speakers and a 4 channel amp.

Full System Specs:
Headunit: Alpine 9885
4 Channel: Alpine MRP-F450
Front Speakers: Polk Momo MMC6500 Components
Rear Speakers: Polk Momo MMC650 Coaxial

Sub JL Audio 10w2v2 w/ 330 watts from a rockford fosgate amp

I have no idea how to tune the 4 channel amp. I have never done it before and i don't know how. Currently w/ the factory settings i'm missing midbass. I have the crossovers on the Components set to -3db for the tweeters because at 0 they were way to bright. I have the headunit 0'd out. Any advice on how to set or what to set my 4 channel amp to?

Thanks
Old 01-06-2008, 11:19 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SoCal tC Club
SL Member

normally i just turn the music up slightly loud..and mess with the amp until it sounds the way i want it too..that seems to be the best way to me
Old 01-07-2008, 04:17 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Use a DMM? Head over to ICIX and there are various methods. The DMM method is a few simple calculations and then you look for a voltage out of your amp in each channel. You'll need test tones as well.
Old 01-09-2008, 07:13 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Re: Help with 4 channel amp

Originally Posted by Farlin
...i'm missing midbass. Any advice on how to set or what to set my 4 channel amp to?