Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Aftermarket nav head unit questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-08-2008, 05:43 AM

Default Aftermarket nav head unit questions

I plan on purchasing an '09 xB in the near future and will need a navigation system. After doing some research here I've decided it makes the most sense to get the base audio system and replace it with an aftermarket product since it will be cheaper and have more functionality. I have no experience in modifying an existing head unit and I didn't find the answers to these questions on the boards, so here goes:

- Will I have to 'hack' an aftermarket unit similar to the SNS hack in order to make it functional while driving?
- My understanding is that head units are a standard size, so any kind should fit. Is this correct?
- Are all units compatible with the steering wheel functions? Can they all be connected to the headlights so they will automatically dim?
- Is there any way to retain the functionality of the ipod input jack with a new head system or will the input be unusable?
- How easy is it to install myself? Will I need any special tools? Will the unit come with step by step instructions?
- Ultimately, I want to have a GPS, ipod control, steering wheel functionality, and bluetooth. Does anyone know if there are any interesting head units coming out in the near future that I should consider?
- By installing this will I void the all warranties (basic, drivetrain, and rust)? Or does it only affect the basic warranty?

Thanks in advance and if any questions have already been answered I apologize.
Old 08-09-2008, 03:37 AM

Default Nav System

My son just bought an 09 xB with the standard radio. He is having the new Pioneer 700 system put in next week. It fits perfectly where the standard Pioneer fits, has bluetooth, Ipod input, and you can use your steering wheel controls. Remember, you are replacing a Pioneer with a Pioneer.
Old 08-09-2008, 04:54 AM
SL Member