Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Input on Sonics&Reliability Alpine CDA-9884/Eclipse CD31

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2008, 01:50 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Input on Sonics&Reliability Alpine CDA-9884/Eclipse CD31

I'm in the process of upgrading my OE Pioneer CD HU in my xB to something that sounds much better (already upgraded the speakers), and the Alpine CDA-9884 and Eclipse CD3100 both look very interesting at their Crutchfield price points. I've no experience with either company's products, but I'm aware Alpine has a long term good rep, and I've just learned Eclipse supposedly has great sound. My number one concern is sound quality -- I don't mean loud or thumping bass or equalizer flexibility, I mean QUALITY (I want to be able to relax and enjoy it, not gradually get driven crazy by it)! And that's with onboard amps, not external amplification. My next concern is reliability, I don't want an HU that's going to give trouble after a few months or when the weather cools down (like now).

Does anybody have any experience with these units -- any opinions on the matter? Thanks in advance for any insights !
Old 12-12-2008, 04:05 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I hooked up an Eclipse CD3100 today and found it to be a little unfriendly to my ears in the highs, though if your goal is lots of bass, it seems to do fine ! Very engaging and exciting sound, but not what I would consider good sound. Still, I haven't listened to the Alpine yet!
Old 12-13-2008, 01:19 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member