Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

what do i need to install my sub and amp

Search this Thread

Old 03-09-2009, 12:52 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Default what do i need to install my sub and amp

ok so im a total noob to installing audio...ive got a 12" W0 and a lightning audio amp...i got the stock deck....what do i need to install this???like what kind of wires and all that???
Old 03-09-2009, 02:38 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

probably an 8 gauge wiring kit.. line output converter *unless you have the premium radio with rca outputs on the back* and rca's to reach from the deck to the location of the amp
Old 03-11-2009, 04:50 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

that is such a vague question....if depends how mild or wild you wanna do it.
Old 03-13-2009, 05:30 PM

You'll need a wiring kit with power lead, rca cables, ground wire, and remote turn on lead. You'll also need a line converter, which converts the speaker level output from the HU to a line level signal. You'll splice this into one set of speaker outputs (usually rear is used). Having done the same thing before, I would highly recommend using a line driver, which boosts the resulting line level signal from the converter. I tried it without one and the signal was very low. I had to turn the gain all the way up on the amp and it was still very quiet. You can also get a line level converter that has a volume control too. This way you can adjust the sub level independently from the bass on the HU.

do a google search for these two items:
PAC LC-2
PAC turbo-1
Old 03-13-2009, 09:12 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

nice straight answers guys. Where does the remote wire go though. The Turn-on wire for amp. Does is somehow work with the line Converter off the rear speakers? or do I have to somehow tap into the wire behind the Factory CD player. Also, do they make a line driver and line converter all in one?

thanks.