Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Which makes a better cargo light -- "cool" white or "warm" white?

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2009, 01:06 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Which makes a better cargo light -- "cool" white or "warm" white?

I'm trying to settle on colors of white and quantities and type of LED's for my dome and cargo lamps. I've settled on six standard "Natural" white LEDs for each of the map lights, but am considering either two "Cool" high power LED's for the dome, or else perhaps two "Warm" high power LEDs ("Natural" doesn't appear to be an option ).

My emphasis in the back of my xB2 is cargo, not passengers, so perhaps "Cool" would be best for both dome and cargo (?), but I've zero experience with white LEDs (or any car interior LEDs for that matter) and so I'd appreciate input from those with experience.

TIA -- Trevor

Last edited by TrevorS; 10-26-2009 at 01:11 AM.
Old 10-26-2009, 02:35 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member

Warm white is natural white. Around 4-4.5K It has a tinge of yellow to it. Not my cup of tea personally. My preference for any LED lighting is cool white in the 6K range. Pure white in the 5K range also looks good. Only time I like warm white is in a house with hardwood floors & accents
Old 10-26-2009, 03:14 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

The warm or natural led's are close to the same color as the stock bulbs, just brighter. The cool white led's are more of a sharp white, with a hint of blue. I like the cool white myself.
Old 10-26-2009, 05:11 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

If you've already got 'Natural" color lights I would say go with the 'Warm' as it'll be a much closer match in color temperature than the 'Cool'.