Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

DIYing my 08 xB2's fuel and intake cleaning?

Search this Thread

Old 11-09-2012, 02:25 PM

Default DIYing my 08 xB2's fuel and intake cleaning?

Toyota dealer recommended a stack of services totaling hundreds, but which I know I can do myself for much, much less, including:

- Injector cleaning
- De-carb of intake
- Brake flush (might not be able to do myself, savvy-or-equipment-wise)

Now, I am going to go ahead and assume I'll do the MAF and maybe some plugs, too, since I got hit with the rough-idle sputter this morning on the way to work.

I assume that most of this is no-brainer and can be done with some cans of BG stuff, etc. But since the Box is relatively new to me (less than a year),
I'm posting here to find out if there are any tricks or little things I need to know beforehand.
I'm no mechanic but I can work on my own cars a bit; biggest issue is that I don't have a garage or specific automotive tools.

Thoughts?

Last edited by MR_LUV; 07-18-2018 at 05:20 PM.
Old 11-09-2012, 04:07 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

First of all how many miles you got on it currently? Seems too soon if its new.

-Injector cleaning- dump a bottle of the lucas injector cleaner in the fuel tank after every oil change or lasts 25 tanks You can get it at wally world for $5.

-De-carb intake- Self explanatory. Just be very careful with the maf. Its very delicate. Clean with a rag if it has build up and dont' spray directly on it. All other parts clean as usual. (wipe down or let them dry)

-Brake Flush- I assume yours brake fluid is black.. Easiest way is to have a friend. Start with opening the MC and pull the wheels off. Start on the RR and open the bleed valve and have your friend pump and watch the level at the MC and keep pouring fresh brake fluid.