Notices
Scion tC 1G Owners Lounge
2005-2010 [ANT10]

found my tC's pic on ebay... but how?!

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 09:16 AM
  #1  
TRD_SSM_tC's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 111
From: West Lafayette, IN
Default found my tC's pic on ebay... but how?!

Hey guys... I am in a bit of a shock right now... well I was just browsing around ebay awhile ago and looking if there is anything interesting... I happen to come across this item and to my surprise it is using my tC's picture!! It was a picture I took back in feb when I just got my tC and gave it the first car wash.. at first I was just thinking that it was a similar car and at a similar location until I spotted a little white thing hanging from the front windshield (which is a mini badminton shuttle) that I have on my tC and the location is exactly the same when I compared it to my picture... I have never posted that pic on the net... how could the seller have gotten the picture?

Here is a link http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Scion...11923788QQrdZ1
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 10:04 AM
  #2  
Kilo6_one's Avatar
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,091
From: Fresno, CA
Default

email him and tell him to stop using your picture or you will notify ebay, i had a guy use a photo of mine of an item i posted on ebay a month prior...
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 10:12 AM
  #3  
TRD_SSM_tC's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 111
From: West Lafayette, IN
Default

but I never posted that picture online... could it be that I have been hacked?
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 11:07 AM
  #4  
ZodtC's Avatar
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 159
From: Beaumont, CA
Default

now thats weird lol. Did he photo shop ur headlights too?
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 11:20 AM
  #5  
TRD_SSM_tC's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 111
From: West Lafayette, IN
Default

ya.. he did.. he added "overlays" onto the hearlights...
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 12:33 PM
  #6  
drgonzo's Avatar
Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 59
Default

Let's see the proof, post your photo. Maybe they're just similar
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 01:10 PM
  #7  
TRD_SSM_tC's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 111
From: West Lafayette, IN
Default

here is the proof

Old Nov 5, 2005 | 01:19 PM
  #8  
Sanjuro's Avatar
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 229
From: NC
Default

Contact ebay and report him. They usually take care of things like this. Not to mention the other side of this coin where you could suggest 'fraud' in the email if you show that he is photoshopping his product (unless he otherwise mentions it in the auction).

Is it possible you emailed someone this pic?

Good Luck!!!!
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 02:52 PM
  #9  
TRD_SSM_tC's Avatar
Thread Starter
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 111
From: West Lafayette, IN
Default

no, I havent emailed anyone this pic... I did send it over MSN.. could that be it? but I sent it to my friends though...
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 03:17 PM
  #10  
schwettynuts's Avatar
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scinergy
 
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 1,409
From: Englewood, CO
Default

there is nothing wrong with using someone elses picture on ebay. Unless of course he is selling a car and he was using your car. But how he got it? I dont know. Reporting it to ebay doesnt do you anything.
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 03:21 PM
  #11  
NYXbScion's Avatar
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Posts: 180
Default

Maybe he took a pic of your car that looked very similar to yours
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 05:08 PM
  #12  
TyranntKid's Avatar
Junior Member
5 Year Member
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 7
From: Long Island, NY
Default

thats pretty crazy, its definately your pick, you can still see your reflection of you taking the picture on the ebay photo
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 05:19 PM
  #13  
Sanjuro's Avatar
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 229
From: NC
Default

there is nothing wrong with using someone elses picture on ebay...Reporting it to ebay doesnt do you anything
Au Contraire. I've done this many times when someone is misrepresenting something that isn't theirs. I've had my pics stolen in the same mannor as this. Usually Ebay asks for proof so send them other pics. Pics of your car w/you will sufffice. Sometimes they ask you to fax an Identification to them. More to the point, he is misrepresnting his product by using a picture that A: isn't his and B: isnt a true photographic presentation of said product without any disclaimers.

To answer your MSN question, yes. Most likely what happened is someone you sent the pic (through MSN) sent it to one of their friends with something like "Look at this cool Scion" and it went from there. I doubt your friends are to blame.

Send him (the sellar) a notice of intent with a deadline to fix the auction, then proceed to Ebay. Be persistant. Mention lawyers if no satisfaction is given.

It is illegal to use someones photo without written permission PERIOD. Explain that he has not been given permission from you for Reproduction, Distribution, Public display or any Derivitive work, as set down by copyright law.

Again, good luck!
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 05:53 PM
  #14  
Batjew's Avatar
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 595
From: Duluth, GA
Default

dude, best thing ever, hotlink your pic to tubgirl.com, that'll teach him
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 07:02 PM
  #15  
engifineer's Avatar
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 9,731
From: Minneapolis, MN
Default

The guy uses the user name lillazy23 on http://www1.resellerratings.com/sell...p99-s1-d1.html

And this is his email address: lillazy23@mediaone.net

Unless it is a strange coincidence that he uses the same user name and likes cars and motorcycles.. his pick and other info are on some dumb dating site here:

http://memberse.blackplanet.com/LiLlazy23/

Just did a little creative googling with the info from his pic location...
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 07:09 PM
  #16  
mikek6789's Avatar
Banned
SL Member
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 255
Default

Originally Posted by Batjew
dude, best thing ever, hotlink your pic to tubgirl.com, that'll teach him
hotlink isnt the right term you nub, and tubgirl.com has been dead for like... ever
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 07:41 PM
  #17  
engifineer's Avatar
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 9,731
From: Minneapolis, MN
Default

^^ and the worlds least intelligent a$$ strikes again

just go away, all you do is run your mouth
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 08:25 PM
  #18  
BlkSandPrlTurbotC's Avatar
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,834
From: Always In Front Of You
Default

LAWSUIT!
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 09:47 PM
  #19  
killer4605's Avatar
Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 84
From: Greenville, SC
Default

don't see why you care...
Old Nov 5, 2005 | 10:00 PM
  #20  
English's Avatar
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 703
From: Atl
Default

^^^he was just wondering how it happened can't you read?

haha his profile is charming



All times are GMT. The time now is 09:14 AM.