Notices
Off-topic Cafe Meet the others and talk about whatever...

The Best Performing Rear Wing for the FRS/BRZ/FT86

Search this Thread

Old 02-14-2015, 07:42 PM
MRE

Default The Best Performing Rear Wing for the FRS/BRZ/FT86

Hey FT86 Owners and Enthusiasts!

I'm currently working on creating an aftermarket rear wing for the FRS/BRZ/FT86. Currently there are already many choices out there, but I want to stand out from the rest by producing one that has ultra high performance. I started out 2 years ago when I wanted improved lap times on the track through aero mods. After studying the subject and researching the many companies that sell performance aero parts, I've concluded that many of them wouldn't give me the performance gains I was looking for. My background is engineering from UBC, and I took full advantage of the resources and knowledge I have access to and started from scratch in designing my own rear wing.

After over 80 different iterations designs and CFD testing, this rear wing is the result.

S C I O N F R S Photos by lolersk8ter | Photobucket

Design for the wing elements and position is set.
The wing mount for the final product will adopt this look, with perhaps some adjustments. The base of the mount is also up for design changes.
So far, there are 3 different endplate designs:
  • #1 is the most conservative, cosmetically. Produces the least downforce. Best used at 0° to 15°
  • #2 produces more downforce much more efficiently, with higher downforce and less drag. This is the by-product of endplate #3. Designed to be used at 25°
  • #3 is the the direct by-product from the experimental wing in the simulation. Produces over more 10% downforce compared to the shorter endplate.