Notices
Scion FR-S Forced Induction Turbo and supercharger applications...

Turbo Vs. Supercharger

Search this Thread

Old 06-25-2012, 08:00 PM

Default Turbo Vs. Supercharger

I am writing this from the perspective of a non gearhead. I want to hear some feedback on forced induction for the FRS, not planning on tracking the car, mainly just an everyday driver. So lets hear it, turbo vs supercharger pros and cons-
Old 06-25-2012, 09:45 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

REDACTED

Last edited by pyroman131; 07-26-2018 at 03:30 AM.
Old 06-25-2012, 10:04 PM

Default aaah

Thanks for the feedback! I have had a boosted car, I had a civic SI with a vortec supercharger with air to water intercooler. The thing was ridiculous! From what I hear, (and noticed with the SC) is that it gave me more immedeatte HP and speed. As soon as it reached say, 3500 rpm's in each gear, you could feel it throw you back in your seat with no lag, which was great! I have no experience with a turbo though. I have heard that turbos can be harder on motors over time than SC? My ultimate goal is to reach about 280-300 HP with my FR-S, plenty of speen for me! I'm not looking to be the biggest boy on nthe block, I just want to have a fast, RWD car to blow by a 350Z that rolls up next to me! LOL! Greddy is actually coming out with a turbo kit for FRS very soon from what I've heard!
Old 06-25-2012, 10:22 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

When you say lift off, do you mean like lifting front wheels off the ground? I'm sure an xB is balanced, just not to Ferrari's specs lol.