Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Need experts opinion on the clutch.

Search this Thread

Old 06-24-2014, 08:18 PM

Default Need experts opinion on the clutch.

Will begin with saying that im not an expert, i would rate my lvl of knowledge as a newb with ability to think.
Also, English is my 3rd language so feel free to bash me if something doesnt make sense till it makes sense to you.

I drive 2007 tc with 80000 miles on it, all stock + cai, and i had this car since it was 32000 miles old. My driving habit ranges anywhere between trying to get the smoothest shifts and most mpg, to making it scream at 125mph on the highway. Never seen track, all city and interstate driving.

Since i got this car, i never had any issues with shifting besides going into to the reverse, sometimes i would have to do double clutching in order to avoid grinding noise.
About 15000 miles ago 5th gear started to act funky. Sometimes it would grind and resist to shift into 5th when rpm's are above 2500. This was especially noticeable when getting on the highway. Sometime it would be perfectly fine for a whole week of driving. Never had this issue while driving in the city or keeping it below 2500 though.

Somewhere around 1000 miles ago i started noticing a slight lag in acceleration when in 2nd and 3rd gear, it felt like a throttle body was filled with gunk and was taking its sweet time with responding.
No signs of a clutch slip, or any other shifting related issues.

-Now this is where fun started:
About a week ago on the way home while accelerating at the green light, in 2nd gear i felt that 'lag' again, and right after it i felt like the car stopped accelerating for about a sec and then picked up its speed. I never felt a clutch slip before, but i am very confident that it was a clutch slip.
After that i immediately parked the car and did not touch it for next 7 hours.