Notices
Scion tC 1G Owners Lounge
2005-2010 [ANT10]

Scion tC S-pipe / down pipe install help

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2014, 04:21 AM

Default Scion tC S-pipe / down pipe install help

Hello, I'm new to this page, I'm going to install OBX header, OBX S-pipe and a catback exhaust, I've been researching and I think I know how to install everything but the S-pipe, I have never done amything of this and I wanna do it myself, can somebody tell me how to install the S-pipe and if you want to tell me some tips on the others installation that will be awesome, and another thing, whats the best way to take the O2 sensors out, everyone is saying they are hard to take out, well anything will help, thank you

Last edited by MR_LUV; 10-21-2017 at 03:13 AM. Reason: typo
Old 12-18-2014, 07:02 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Depending on your location, rust will be the biggest issue.

I ended up using a torch to heat things up enough to break the hardware free.
Old 12-18-2014, 08:25 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Exactly what he said. I changed mine many years ago, so rust wasn't too bad. With the car cold, I soaked the threads of both O2 sensors with PB blaster overnight. Using an O2 sensor socket and breaker bar, I managed to get it loose, but keep in mind my car was <2 years old at the time. The second O2 sensor was removed outside of the car by removing the pipe first, then breaking it loose with the same method.

In your case, you may need a torch if it's rusted badly. Heat the bung, not the sensor. When reinstalling O2 sensors, apply antiseize to the threads. I was able to remove my O2 sensor 5+ years later thanks to the antiseize. I used Permatex, but any high temp antiseize should work.
Old 12-19-2014, 11:03 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member