Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

V6 tC 3.3L VVTi

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2010, 11:06 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Thumbs up V6 tC 3.3L VVTi

Check out these pics of my V6 tC. It has been running for about 3K miles. I have some small things left to finish, but it's 98% complete.

My Scion tC by Kevin Myose | Photobucket

Name:  0277.jpg
Views: 14113
Size:  129.4 KB

Name:  0279.jpg
Views: 20827
Size:  115.5 KB

Name:  0021.jpg
Views: 17727
Size:  122.4 KB

For those that care,
I finally had a chance to get a video posted. It's my first video and it's a little rough...

Here is a list of answers for questions that people ask most often...

The swap took about 9 months, but I had to work on it off and on. Probably about three months if I had every weekend and some weeknights available. The exhaust took some time since I'm a crappy stainless welder (and old and blind), but installing it in the chassis was very straightforward, the RH mount and axle retainer were easy fabs. The amount of time spent researching wiring diagrams, pin outs, and harness locations was extremely time consuming. I saved a spreadsheet of the wiring matchup between the two if anyone else wants to try it... but they are more of a starting point.

Just swap stuff? Engine & ECM, Cats ($$), Alt, P/S pump, A/C, flywheel, coolant hoses, crap lying around my garage. Some metal. About $2500... If a person found a whole Camry, Solara, or ES300, now for a good deal, you could avoid the Cats, Alt, etc.. I bought this engine in Jan 2008, it was $1400 incl the ECM. So you could do this real cheap now. Using the Camry exhaust alone would probably save lots of fabbing, because I had to make my own, it's a little ugly. Either way, the Camry pipes would need massaging to fit the tC chassis. So what I'm saying is other than the engine & related, all you really need a is an aluminum Camry flywheel (Fidanza Part #: 130881) and some mad skills...