Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Loud humming/Whining-not tires

Search this Thread

Old 07-25-2014, 05:09 AM

Default Loud humming/Whining-not tires

Ok.

So I have been reading the forums and searching previous posts and can't seem to find my exact problem.
Let me first say that Im not a mechanic and will be using lamens terms.

I have a Xa 2004 Manual Transmission with about 119k miles.

When driving, shifting into about 3rd gear and on, I am getting a whining or humming sound. If I push the clutch in it goes away, If I let go of the clutch it sounds as if you were to touch a bicycle tire with a stick several times before keeping the stick on the fast tire where it becomes a constant hum... like a stick on a bicycle tire. Like a rubbing sound.
Its driving me crazy.

Another problem that may be related is when driving in lower gears it revs high like you are holding the clutch in and pushing the gas harder. It does even out though and goes away. I think this might be the clutch.

I ALWAYS like to get non sales persons opinions before I drop a chunk of change on something. If its the clutch, I will have to have a mechanic do it and from what I am seeing, that's about 1500$

Thanks for reading this far.

Daniel.
Old 07-25-2014, 12:35 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

It's hard hard to tell without looking at/hearing the noise myself, but from what what you are describing and the mileage on your xA, it sounds like you are due for clutch replacement. Good quick test: take the car to about 30 MPH. (3rd gear speed). Push the clutch in, engage second and dump the clutch out fast. (I know this sounds harsh but bear with me). If the RPMs spike and the car jerks you, your clutch is not slipping....if RPMs do not jump up immediately on you, that disc is slipping. Hope this helps.
Old 08-11-2014, 07:23 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member