Go Back   Scionlife.com » Scion xB Classic » Scion xB 1st-Gen Owners Lounge » Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen ICE & Interior
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read GarageVendors TSBs & Recalls

Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Reply
 
 
 
Old 07-21-2004, 12:30 AM   #1
scionlife
Founder
5 Year Member
Admin Emeritus


SL Member
 
scionlife's Avatar
scionlife 38/M
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: scionlife.com
iTrader: (0)
Default Resetting the check engine light

Contributed by eric m.

After you've driven your Scion for a few thousand miles, you will see a "maintenance required" orange light flash for a few seconds in the center display console every time you start your car. Do not be alarmed. this is just a reminder to have your oil changed. If you change your own oil, you can reset the light. here is how:
1. Turn on the ignition and make sure it is on your odometer display, not the trip display.
2. Turn off your ignition. Hold down the trip meter reset button and turn the ignition on. Keep the button pushed in.
3. The maintenance required light will flash for a few seconds. when it turns off, let go of the reset button.

The the display will change for 1 second and go back to the mileage. That's it.

-----

Contributed by Scott17

In case you didn't know and would like to use this function, when you hold the odometer reset **** and turn on the ignition, 5 bars in the odometer display flash and then sequentially go out. Each of these bars represents 1k miles. If you want to set the light to come on in 3k miles, let go of the reset **** with 2 bars remaining. 4k with 1 bar remaining and so on. Each bar that goes out will be 1k miles before the light comes on.
scionlife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2004, 04:05 PM   #2
tcm_xB
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
tcm_xB's Avatar
tcm_xB 114/M
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Georgia
iTrader: (0)
Default Q?

I did my oil change about 300 miles ago. Did not reset the maintenance light just because I forgot about it. Can the dealer tell when the light has been reset?
tcm_xB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2004, 11:44 PM   #3
foxSCION
Senior Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
sIcKsCiOnS
Scinergy
Team ScioNRG
Scion Evolution
foxSCION 39/M
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: FOX SCION (E. Prov, RI)
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to foxSCION Send a message via AIM to foxSCION Send a message via MSN to foxSCION Send a message via Yahoo to foxSCION
Default Re: Q?

Quote:
Originally Posted by tcm_xB
I did my oil change about 300 miles ago. Did not reset the maintenance light just because I forgot about it. Can the dealer tell when the light has been reset?
You can reset the light anytime and it will blink again in another 5k miles.
__________________
SCIONbyJJUAN[dot]com|
foxSCION is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 12:24 AM   #4
bondobob
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
N.G.S.O.
bondobob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
iTrader: (0)
Default

i change my oil at 5,000 mi. tha light will come on every 7500mi reset it as per scions instuctions
bondobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 12:27 AM   #5
bondobob
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
N.G.S.O.
bondobob
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
iTrader: (0)
Default

excuse me, per erics instruction,sorry eric
bondobob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 03:17 AM   #6
TheScionicMan
Senior Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Scion Evolution
 
TheScionicMan's Avatar
TheScionicMan 114/M
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: In the Hot Tub
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott17
Hey guys, Does everyone know how to reset the oil change light on your car? If not, shame on you and RTFM. Now that we are up to speed, one thing that is not in TFM is that the light can be set for various mileages. I won't offer a suggestion on how often you should change your oil, but when you hold the odometer reset **** and turn on the ignition, 5 bars in the odometer display flash and then sequentially go out. Each of these bars represents 1k miles. If you want to set the light to come on in 3k miles, let go of the reset **** with 2 bars remaining. 4k with 1 bar remaining and so on....Each bar that goes out will be 1k miles before the light comes on. In case you didn't know and would like to use this function.
__________________
------------------------------------
www.TheScionicMan.com

http://www.digitalradiocentral.com
TheScionicMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2005, 07:15 AM   #7
hotbox05
Senior Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Team N.V.S.
 
hotbox05's Avatar
hotbox05 29/M
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento , CA / Nor*caL
iTrader: (0)
mertechperf mertechperformance@hotmail.com
Send a message via AIM to hotbox05 Send a message via MSN to hotbox05 Send a message via Yahoo to hotbox05
Default

now will this reset the mil or just for the oil?
__________________
13k posts and counting
'06 Suzuki RMZ450
'74 Honda CB550 K0
'98 Honda VTR1000F
'08 Honda Ruckus
'10 Honda Elite 110
merTECH www.teamnvs.com JDMPalace
www.totalruckus.com
Team N.V.S.
hotbox05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 02:24 AM   #8
mikochu
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
mikochu's Avatar
mikochu 30/M
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, Florida
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hotbox05
now will this reset the mil or just for the oil?
reset the mil? the mileage? Definitely not. It will just reset the oil change meter...
__________________
Michael Reyes
www.mikochu.com

2010 VW GTI 2 Door in Carbon Steel Grey Metallic [6spd]
2002 Honda 919 Asphalt [6spd] (more info)
2009 Honda Civic Si Sedan Crystal Black Pearl [6spd]
2004 Scion xA Polar White [5spd] (more info)

google it.
mikochu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 09:35 AM   #9
hotbox05
Senior Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Team N.V.S.
 
hotbox05's Avatar
hotbox05 29/M
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento , CA / Nor*caL
iTrader: (0)
mertechperf mertechperformance@hotmail.com
Send a message via AIM to hotbox05 Send a message via MSN to hotbox05 Send a message via Yahoo to hotbox05
Default

no not mileage . mil stands for malfunction indicator lamp. im not talkin bout the maint required light i mean the check engine lights. seperate than the oil change needed light.
__________________
13k posts and counting
'06 Suzuki RMZ450
'74 Honda CB550 K0
'98 Honda VTR1000F
'08 Honda Ruckus
'10 Honda Elite 110
merTECH www.teamnvs.com JDMPalace
www.totalruckus.com
Team N.V.S.
hotbox05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 12:28 PM   #10
mikochu
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
mikochu's Avatar
mikochu 30/M
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Orlando, Florida
iTrader: (0)
Default

Oh, sorry. I didn't know what mil stood for. This method won't reset the CEL. If you don't have a code reader, you can reset the mil by resetting the ECU via unplugging the battery or unplugging the EFI fuse in the main fuse box in the engine bay. http://www.scionlife.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=33062
__________________
Michael Reyes
www.mikochu.com

2010 VW GTI 2 Door in Carbon Steel Grey Metallic [6spd]
2002 Honda 919 Asphalt [6spd] (more info)
2009 Honda Civic Si Sedan Crystal Black Pearl [6spd]
2004 Scion xA Polar White [5spd] (more info)

google it.
mikochu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2005, 07:22 PM   #11
hotbox05
Senior Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Team N.V.S.
 
hotbox05's Avatar
hotbox05 29/M
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento , CA / Nor*caL
iTrader: (0)
mertechperf mertechperformance@hotmail.com
Send a message via AIM to hotbox05 Send a message via MSN to hotbox05 Send a message via Yahoo to hotbox05
Default

aww the ecu fuse in the engine bay lol i tried doin the lil ecu fuse in the interior fuse box and it didnt reset so i had to remove the neg batt , damn it i had a pain re-settin my stereo lol
__________________
13k posts and counting
'06 Suzuki RMZ450
'74 Honda CB550 K0
'98 Honda VTR1000F
'08 Honda Ruckus
'10 Honda Elite 110
merTECH www.teamnvs.com JDMPalace
www.totalruckus.com
Team N.V.S.
hotbox05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 08:08 PM   #12
bulldog2g
Junior Member
5 Year Member
 
bulldog2g's Avatar
bulldog2g 114/M
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Camarillo, CA
iTrader: (0)
Default cool.

This is good simple info.
__________________
"Whatever I FEEL like doing.......GOSH!!"
bulldog2g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 10:39 AM   #13
boilerman
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
boilerman
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Southern Illinois
iTrader: (0)
Default

In case you didn't know and would like to use this function, when you hold the odometer reset **** and turn on the ignition, 5 bars in the odometer display flash and then sequentially go out. Each of these bars represents 1k miles. If you want to set the light to come on in 3k miles, let go of the reset **** with 2 bars remaining. 4k with 1 bar remaining and so on. Each bar that goes out will be 1k miles before the light comes on.
Quote:

I posted this to another forum and a fellow claimed he attempted it and it reset his ODO. Was upset as he is on a lease and ODO went to a higher figure. Someone else suggested that his ODO reset to kilometers. So perhaps I should keep my nose out of things until I have had personal experience of a procedure.
boilerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2005, 10:42 AM   #14
boilerman
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
boilerman
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Southern Illinois
iTrader: (0)
Default

[/quote]In case you didn't know and would like to use this function, when you hold the odometer reset **** and turn on the ignition, 5 bars in the odometer display flash and then sequentially go out. Each of these bars represents 1k miles. If you want to set the light to come on in 3k miles, let go of the reset **** with 2 bars remaining. 4k with 1 bar remaining and so on. Each bar that goes out will be 1k miles before the light comes on.[quote]

I posted this to another forum and a fellow claimed he attempted it and it reset his ODO. Was upset as he is on a lease and ODO went to a higher figure. Someone else suggested that his ODO reset to kilometers. So perhaps I should keep my nose out of things until I have had personal experience of a procedure.
boilerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2005, 12:25 PM   #15
JACKNBX
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
JACKNBX's Avatar
JACKNBX 50/M
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: S. Central PA.
iTrader: (0)
Default

I set mine to 3000 and I have no problems or issues. Now all I have to do is wait till my odo gets to 8625. I set mine so it starts flashing about one weeks worth of nomal commuting to work, that way I can plan to have it done that week.


Jack
__________________
I'm glad that's over!
05 Xb camo metallic 5 spd.

REMEMBER: If it's a good one it won't hurt it, and if it's a bad one it doesn't matter!
JACKNBX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2005, 12:52 AM   #16
Mjj770
Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member
Mjj770 114/M
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
iTrader: (0)
Default

Thanks, I just got my oil changed and the light keeps on bugging me.
Mjj770 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2005, 08:46 PM   #17
rebelMan
Senior Member
5 Year Member
KAD
SL Member
 
rebelMan's Avatar
rebelMan 25/M
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Sarasota, FL
iTrader: (0)
Default

nice post, i'd be scraching my head wondering where the *** the light came from after the first oil change ; ;

thanks
__________________
>CarDomain<_>MySpace<
06' Camo <(__)> Represent!
CarPC [Music, Videos, GPS, Internet, etc.], MyPrevious Air Ride Install: >HERE<
rebelMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2005, 12:13 AM   #18
woof
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
woof 65/M
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
iTrader: (0)
Default

WOW! I'm not going to have to spend $50 for some piece of crap chip/tool and dig under the hood. Thanks, guys. Thanks, Scion.
woof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2005, 06:13 PM   #19
popalock85
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
popalock85's Avatar
popalock85 31/M
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Dallas Tx.
iTrader: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikochu
Oh, sorry. I didn't know what mil stood for. This method won't reset the CEL. If you don't have a code reader, you can reset the mil by resetting the ECU via unplugging the battery or unplugging the EFI fuse in the main fuse box in the engine bay. http://www.scionlife.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=33062
Awesome info thanks!
popalock85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2005, 09:43 AM   #20
bB626
Senior Member
5 Year Member
Balliztik
SL Member
bB626 30/M
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Rosemead, SoCal
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to bB626 Send a message via AIM to bB626 Send a message via MSN to bB626 Send a message via Yahoo to bB626
Default

my cousin's tC passed 5k and the maintainance light just came on today. when her tC passed 3k, she went to the dealers to change the oil for her. shouldn't the dealers reset the maintainance light at that time? or did they forgot?
__________________
Johnny
'05 USDM Toyota bB

Remember: JDM = Johnny Da Man

FUSCION | HFD | Mitsu's Garage Inc.
bB626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2005, 09:43 AM
Scionlife.com
Scion TC



Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2002, 2009, cel, change, check, civic, engine, honda, light, method, mil, oil, reset, resetting, scion, tc, toyota


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:00 PM.
Advertising - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Jobs
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Forums Backup with Admin Control Panel