Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

How-to: Install front coaxial speakers

Old 01-06-2007, 05:38 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scinergy

Default How-to: Install front coaxial speakers

I thought it was rather ridiculous that no one had created a how-to for swapping the stock front speakers for aftermarket ones, as speakers are a common way to enhance sound quality. So, I documented my own journey as I replaced the stockers with a pair of 6.5" Alpine SPS-17C2 aftermarket units. Please note that this is merely a guide for your efforts, and that I am not an audio pro in any way, shape, or form. If you attempt this install realize that if you mess up, it is on you to fix it! I am not responsible for any damage you may inflict on your car, speakers, or person while you do this.

With that aside, let us begin our process.

Section 1: Door Panel Removal

The door panels of our car don't put up much of a fight. They're held in by a total of 3 screws and 16 snapping clips. Start off by using your fingernails to pull the front half of the door handle away from the door, starting at the non-circular end and moving towards the circle.

With the handle off, two Phillips head screws will be exposed; one is at the front of the handle (toward the engine), the other at the rear, sunk in.

After you remove those, address the smaller Phillips head screw behind the little sneak panel at the door handle.

With the 3 screws removed, it's time to unsnap this bad boy. Start at the bottom of the door, at the corner closer to the engine. Pull firmly and it should pop out without much fuss. Work out hands around the bottom of the door, then up the back edge, then move to the front, above the handle, and it will pop free.