Notices
Scion tC 1G Suspension & Handling Coilovers, Shocks, Airbags, Swaybars...

New rotors or not?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2012, 03:23 AM
5 Year Member

Default New rotors or not?

Hi everyone. Sorry I'm new to working on my car and all this car stuff, so I apologize in advance.

So my brakes have been squeaking on me occasionally. I'm at ~30k miles on it so I probably need to replace them. It's not a constant squeaking, it does happen almost every time I drive, but only on very mild braking do I hear a slight squeak. Its not loud. Is it normal for low brake pad squeaking to not occur under moderate-hard braking?

So the second note is that I have been driving around for over a month with this occasional squeaking noise thinking it was just some buildup from overnight parking. But now I'm worried that my rotors may be warped because I've been driving around with this squeaky sound. How would I know if they're warped and need to be replaced in addition to the pads? If I put my finger along the rotor will there be a significant groove, or does even a minor groove mean I should replace it? I havent noticed any brake pedal vibration while braking, but I normally drive pretty slow and don't really ever brake hard. Would vibration be easier to tell at light braking or heavy braking? Are there any other ways I can check for rotor damage?

Preferably I want to try installing new front brake pads (i'm a beginner at messing with my car). I'm pretty certain only the front brake pads are out. But if I need new rotors, I'd prefer to order them together in a combo package.
Old 05-03-2012, 05:28 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member