Notices
Scion tC 2G Aero & Exterior Aero parts and exterior dress items...

DIY: 2nd Reverse Light

Search this Thread

Old 01-11-2011, 10:14 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Smile DIY: 2nd Reverse Light

I was asked to post some pics of what I did to add the second reverse light. I'm not a pro at modding and it might not be up to par for some so some things aren't going to be the prettiest, but it definitely makes the tC2 look better.

I went to my local Radio Shack and picked up red and black 14 gauge wire, a pack of 14-18 gauge splice quick connects and a pack of 14-18 gauge wire tap connects. It all came out to like $15 max with tax.
I also purchased a set of 2-wire 7440 (same as the cars) sockets from eBay for $10; it took a week to get in. For $25, some time, and a little cursing I have a second reverse light!

Here are pics of the materials I used:

7440 Socket:

Wire tap and quick connects:

Next I ran the wires inside the car underneath the panel. I just stuck one end of the wire through the driver side and guided it out the other end. I took a pic of the middle and left a little open so you can see:
^^^ This is what I did.

Originally Posted by MightyP
Great work on the light and the write-up. Looks cleaner than what I did (then again I only spent about 30 min doing it) and I didn't cut out notches. Rather, I made a round hole and used a rubber gasket to hold the LED in place.

Anyway, one thing I would recommend changing on your DIY write-up. You said you just ran the wire through the back of the housing.
If you pull up the floor cover (as in expose the spare tire), and unscrew the plastic holders, the whole bottom opens up and you can reach underneath to pull the wire through.
I think I spent more time writing the explanation than I did actually running the wire that way. lol
^^^ Recommended :-)

I put the positive OE bulb wire into one side of the wire tap and put my red wire into the other side, and I did the same for the negative: