Notices
Scion tC 2G Owners Lounge
2011-____ [ANT20]

8URAWD's Build Thread

Old 02-09-2015, 06:24 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default 8URAWD's Build Thread

Just lowered it this weekend. I bought the car brand new originally it was supposed to stay stock but i cant leave anything alone so here it is. Lowered this past weekend.

Current mods:

Dezod Red Header
Injen short ram
Muffler detete
GGP mount
TB coolant bypass
Custom torque mount
Megan coils
HID's
LED's
Toyota Zelas Badges
Pillar vinyl removed
Tinted windows
Rain Guards
Evo X Enkie wheels

Name:  IMG_20150208_133421_zpsuwbilqbw.jpg
Views: 2657
Size:  74.1 KB

Name:  IMG_20150208_222948_zpsfqzegdhu.jpg
Views: 2588
Size:  56.9 KB

Last edited by 8URAWD; 02-23-2015 at 04:25 PM. Reason: Updated Mods
8URAWD is offline  
Old 02-11-2015, 06:15 AM
  #2  
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 409
Default

What does throttle body coolant bypass actually do ? Benefit wise ?
HOODedDutchman is offline  
Old 02-11-2015, 04:06 PM
  #3  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default

Normally your throttle body is heated with coolant. If you bypass it it will stay cool allowing colder air into your engine.
8URAWD is offline  
Old 02-11-2015, 07:17 PM
  #4  
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CenTucky
Posts: 825
Default

Originally Posted by 8URAWD View Post
Normally your throttle body is heated with coolant. If you bypass it it will stay cool allowing colder air into your engine.
Yup, was going to do this myself, and asked in a previous thread if anyone had done it yet. But now that it's dead of winter, I'm going to leave it hooked up until spring. It does help the car warm up in temps below freezing and we do occasionally get blast of arctic air in our area.

Question though, I doubt that you did, but any error codes from it? Also what size of dual barb connecter did you use?
stenger is offline  
Old 02-13-2015, 08:02 PM
  #5  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default

No Codes, I unhooked both hoses completely and replaced it with a single piece of hose.
8URAWD is offline  
Old 02-15-2015, 07:13 PM
  #6  
Senior Member
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: CenTucky
Posts: 825
Default

Do you remember the hose's inner diameter?

Really glad I haven't done this yes as it was 5 degrees yesterday! But yeah, come on warm weather. Free mods are the best mods.
stenger is offline  
Old 02-17-2015, 06:22 PM
  #7  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default

Originally Posted by stenger View Post
Do you remember the hose's inner diameter?

Really glad I haven't done this yes as it was 5 degrees yesterday! But yeah, come on warm weather. Free mods are the best mods.
5/16 if i recall correct but id double check that.
8URAWD is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 04:23 PM
  #8  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default

Dezod Red Header installed. Side by side comparison with the stock manifold.

Name:  20150211_193148_zpscvyixmyw.jpg
Views: 2599
Size:  78.8 KB

Name:  20150211_193155_zps2db8i3sj.jpg
Views: 2579
Size:  35.7 KB

Name:  IMG_20150222_151153_zpskbkmuuzc.jpg
Views: 2580
Size:  93.1 KB

Last edited by 8URAWD; 02-23-2015 at 04:35 PM. Reason: Added pic
8URAWD is offline  
Old 02-23-2015, 05:13 PM
  #9  
Banned
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scionetics
KAD
SL Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Western NY
Posts: 11,936
Default

paul_dezod is offline  
Old 03-06-2015, 09:58 PM
  #10  
Member

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 31
Default

now i'm really thinking about buying those zelas emblem they look good
camicaz7 is offline  
Old 04-17-2015, 04:11 PM
  #11  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default

Originally Posted by camicaz7 View Post
now i'm really thinking about buying those zelas emblem they look good
Thanks!

Will post engine bay shot as soon as I get a chance to clean it.
8URAWD is offline  
Old 04-17-2015, 08:00 PM
  #12  
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

 
VitaminE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Summerville, SC
Posts: 108
Default

Awesome to see someone doing their own work with a second gen tC
VitaminE is offline  
Old 06-17-2015, 04:33 PM
  #13  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default

Picture of the torque mount.

Name:  20150615_182056_zpsnsjpdevm.jpg
Views: 2594
Size:  332.7 KB

More recent picture. Parked next to my buddies WRX

Name:  20150426_103100_zpsglbusvsi.jpg
Views: 2654
Size:  286.9 KB
8URAWD is offline  
Old 06-17-2015, 04:34 PM
  #14  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default

Originally Posted by VitaminE View Post
Awesome to see someone doing their own work with a second gen tC
Thanks!
8URAWD is offline  
Old 06-18-2015, 02:45 PM
  #15  
Junior Member
 
xxciv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 10
Default

looking slick.
xxciv is offline  
Old 06-18-2015, 02:56 PM
  #16  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 28
Default

Originally Posted by xxciv View Post
looking slick.
Thank you.

Also forgot to mention. I had the front bumper repainted and shave my license plate holes.
8URAWD is offline  
Old 11-08-2017, 02:54 AM
  #17  
Administrator
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Administrator

 
MR_LUV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: State of Confusion: CA
Posts: 1,915
Default

Nice Build!

MR_LUV is offline  
Old 04-27-2018, 06:22 PM
  #18  
Senior Member
SL Member
 
drizzoh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: AZ
Posts: 245
Default

Anyone know what torque damper setup this guy is running? I've been looking for a setup since there's no motor mounts available anymore but there's also no options for a torque damper for the tC2.
drizzoh is offline  
Old 05-01-2018, 01:05 AM
  #19  
Member
SL Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 16
Default

You can still get a front motor mount, just not the sides.
2014turboTC is offline  
Old 05-01-2018, 01:07 AM
  #20  
Member
SL Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 16
Default

Originally Posted by drizzoh View Post
Anyone know what torque damper setup this guy is running? I've been looking for a setup since there's no motor mounts available anymore but there's also no options for a torque damper for the tC2.
In the first post he said it's "custom"
2014turboTC is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: 8URAWD's Build Thread


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.