Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Another Rough Idle '05 XB Post....

Search this Thread

Old 05-13-2006, 07:14 PM
5 Year Member

Default Another Rough Idle '05 XB Post....

I recently purchased a '05 XB with a AEM CAI and 18" rims and the strut bar or whatever its called. Ok the car is great and i have drove others with intakes, but mine has the rough idle while in D and stopped at a light or whatever. In N or P there is no rough idle and my rpm's are consistent so its not the fluctating rpm problem that alot of people have. I seached and found people talking about a throttle cable adjustment and a couple others said to do the ground wire kit. I am new to the XB and modding it but I want to learn and do it myself so is there anybody out there that can tell me where to start. Also I'll add that my rpm's are at like 500-650 while in D and stopped is this high enough? This is my first post and I searched alot and have been reading the past few days so help me and I will promise just like all other newbs to utilize the search always. ( the number 1 forum commandment, haha)

Thanks ahead of time people. ;)
Old 05-14-2006, 12:01 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I had a rough idle, no cel. changed out my plugs and it improved. can't say this is your problem but I don't think it would hurt. it could be just a loose connection on a coil, a bad plug, wrong gap but it did help mine.

you could also try putting a cleaner,like lucas tune up in a bottle or chevron techron in to help. no telling what might be in the gas your may have been using.
Old 06-06-2006, 08:47 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I have the same problem with my 04 XB, AT. same rpm at idle when in D, goes away if shift to N or P. AEM CAI, GReddy exhaust, strut bar. stock size wheels and tires, 72K + miles.

plugs may need changing, don't know what original owner did, it's a repo. what is the ground wire kit?
Old 06-06-2006, 08:56 PM