Notices

xA Turbo help

Search this Thread

Old 03-23-2011, 11:54 PM
5 Year Member

Question xA Turbo help

so i just bought a 2006 scion and I'm planing on putting a turbo in it i have basic knowledge of cars and all but i have never put performance parts on them before so this will be my first go around so forgive me for my ignorance.

OK I'm loOKing at turbos and i found somewhere on google that you lose you power steering and a/c. is that true?

also should i buy a kit or piece one together?

are there any drawbacks of having a turbo?
Old 03-24-2011, 08:43 PM
Banned
SL Member

First you need to ask yourself, if you are willing to build the motor. If not than your options are limited due to stock internals. So answer this first and you will get alot more response to what you need to do.

XBG
Old 03-24-2011, 09:10 PM
5 Year Member

Originally Posted by xbgod
First you need to ask yourself, if you are willing to build the motor. If not than your options are limited due to stock internals. So answer this first and you will get alot more response to what you need to do.

XBG
yes I'm willing to but like i said i dint really have much experience with performance engines. am i going to have to completely replace the stock engine with a performance one? also if you could direct me to a website where i could read up on this kinda stuff because i dont wanna waste anyones time with noob questions.
Old 03-25-2011, 01:08 AM
Banned
SL Member

Ok, here you go.

This is a informational site that I started. Bare in mind it's still underconstruction but it has alot of info.

www.extremescionxb.com

To answer your question about the motor build. You don't need to buy a new one. Just have that one built. Rods, Pistons that will allow you to run a good turbo set-up.

XBG
Old 03-25-2011, 01:30 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Originally Posted by xbgod
Ok, here you go.