Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Sound Deadening Help

Old 01-28-2012, 08:26 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Sound Deadening Help

I am new to sound deadening so please bear with me. I've search the forums about it, but most of them are outdated and the pictures are gone. I'm sure this will also help many others who are wondering the same thing.

I've been looking and I see "Fat Mat" and "Dynamat."
They both have door kits. Fat Mat comes with 4 18" x 25" for $33 on eBay. Dynamat comes with 4 12" x 36" for $47 on Amazon.
Fat Mat also has a 25 square ft roll for $45 on Amazon. I'm not good with measurements, which one do you get more area cover the cheapest?

The door kit says 4 sheets will cover 2 doors. Is that a lie?
What is the inner and outer door?
Is the inner door the metal part of the door and the outer door is the door panel that was remove?
Do I need to cover both inner and outer door to notice a difference?
Which side of the door is more important if I had to pick one?

Thanks for your input.

Last edited by itscurtsk; 01-28-2012 at 09:16 AM.
Old 01-28-2012, 09:09 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member

Don't spray, use mat. You want the mat right up against the metal, which means you have to strip everything out and clean the surfaces before you put that mat on it. You should only use spray to fill in the gaps and hard to reach places.

Don't bother sound deadening your doors if you haven't sound deadened your floor first.
Old 01-28-2012, 09:45 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Originally Posted by jobunaga
Don't spray, use mat. You want the mat right up against the metal, which means you have to strip everything out and clean the surfaces before you put that mat on it. You should only use spray to fill in the gaps and hard to reach places.

Don't bother sound deadening your doors if you haven't sound deadened your floor first.