Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

fog light switch alternative?

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2023, 04:56 AM
SL Member

Default fog light switch alternative?

im new to the XB but not new to toyota and their love of re-useing the same parts of differing options across multiple platforms IE look at the intermittent wiper stalk that can be snagged from a yaris, prius and a hand full of others

this begs a fresh question ive been hunting the net for..what about the semi rare "fog" stalk....i cant find any reference to anyone XB ever running one

i have one on its way should be here monday...i intend to install it in an 09 thats pre wired for fogs

can this be done? has it been done and i just cant find record of it?...we have this same setup on an 07 canadian 5dr yaris and love it..so it only makes sense to do the same on the 09 xb
Old 03-02-2023, 05:38 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I wouldn't count on this working. This stalk is from a different base platform. Same reason you can't use the 1st or 2nd gen Prius wiper stalk on a 2nd gen xB, but the 3rd Gen Prius stalk works fine. I would expect the connector in the column to be different and there to be no provision for the wiring in the clock spring. Hopefully I'm wrong and it works, but I don't think it will.
Old 03-02-2023, 11:19 PM
SL Member

ok then, that begs a couple of other questions then

is there even a fog light on the dash that gets lit up?
was a fog stalk even an option on an XB....from what ive seen i feel like an attempt was made and failed by toyota..since its all prewired, yet the lower grill is kinda a OEM hack job

of course it also raises another question, involving the clock spring.....how many different clock springs were made for the XB(or is there another from say a prius) that would work)....im thinking about "extra wires" for things like the steering controls etc that could potentially be utilized