Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Audio upgrade

Search this Thread

Old 07-03-2012, 12:25 AM

Default Audio upgrade

Got my 2012 Scion xB last week. Love it but the audio is way too harsh. I am not an audio techie kind of person but I want to know what is the best course of action for me....new speakers or head unit? I kind of like the base unit that is installed. Is the Premium unit worth it? Will the stock speakers sound better? If not the Premium, any suggestions?

or...will new speakers with base unit be a significant improvement? Budget is $500. I welcome any brands. I love the usb jack in the center console and don't want to lose that in lieu of a head unit with an external usb. I love having the ipod hidden and tucked away in the center console. And I want to keep the hands free and the steering wheel controls. My dealer is installing the Sirius option later this week.

I will not be installing it...scared to death to do it myself. I just want a warm, clear full sound. I listen to mostly jazz, world and classical. Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated. This is my first post...new user here.
Old 07-03-2012, 01:33 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Get a new head unit and upgrade the door speakers. If you shop around you can get very nice speakers and head units for that budget easy and it will transform the sound a lot

I personally love pioneer stuff, I have the older pioneer AVH-P4000 and pioneer 3 ways that I picked up off ebay for around 450 total. Pioneer makes a 4 speaker that would sound awesome and if you get a AVH model head unit like a lot of people on this forum you won't go wrong
Old 07-03-2012, 05:47 PM