Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen Owners Lounge
Second Generation 2008-2015 [AZE151]

Any risk in buying a 2008 xB early in production run?

Old 04-01-2007, 06:43 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Any risk in buying a 2008 xB early in production run?

Now, I am used to American cars, and it is pretty well known common knowledge that purchasing a car in the first year of release generally means lower quality, more squeaks/rattles, and premature component failures.

I used to be an engineer for a supplier to a major US-based car manufacturer(it sucked...moved to the steel industry), and I can say firsthand that early production units are substantially below the quality of units produced just 6 -10 months later. More than you could possibly believe.

I was wondering if any of you are concerned about this with the xB. I want to get one as soon as possible, I don't want to wait a year if my fears are unfounded.

So...did anyone here get an early-production 1st gen xB, xA, or tC? Did you have any significant problems that were fixed later in the production run? Are there any well known early-production problems with the current Scions?

I am not sure if these early-production problems are a domestic manufacturer problem or if they are throughout the industry. With the reputation Toyota has, I doubt they would let any lemons out the door...

I was not really sure which forum this should be in, but I think I made the right choice.
Old 04-01-2007, 08:28 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Yes, there are often minor problems in 1st production year models. For example, I believe the 1st gen xB had some problems with the A/C venting that was fixed in later years.