Notices
Scion xD Owner's Lounge
2008-2010 [ZSP110]

Installed new water pump... Now ticking noise...

Search this Thread

Old 11-04-2012, 12:41 AM

Default Installed new water pump... Now ticking noise...

Let me just say I'm new to Toyota's and new cars in general. I usually work on old (70's-late 80's) trucks.... With that being said...

My girlfriend took her '09 xD to the dealership for a checkup right after her warranty expired. They never found anything wrong with it until then. They told us the water pump was going bad and wanted almost $700 bucks to replace it. I said forget that talk, I'll do it myself. So we ordered the new pump, and (no joking) the day it arrived she was driving back from class and sure enough the serpentine belt tore to shreds on her. We got it back and the water pump pulley was wobbly as all hell.

So after some bloody knuckles and a few choice words I installed the new pump and belt. I tightened the alternator belt adjuster to where it was on the old belt, and did the 90 degree turn trick for the tension.

Now, the problem I'm having is when I start it up, it will fire up, then act like it's going to die for a split second, then idle fine. I also noticed a ticking noise. I'm not sure if that was there before, because it's my girlfriends car and I don't drive it much.

So, would that "dying down" be the belt slipping on the alternator? Could the ticking noise be a bearing about to go? I think it's the fuel injectors and I can't pinpoint where it is coming from. Here is a link to what it sounds like...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-YXvPdDFV5E

Any help would be appreciated folks
Old 11-04-2012, 02:04 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I don't know about the ticking noise, but the car almost dying and then the rpm's rising back up is the ecu resetting itself. Let it idle for a while or take it out for an easy drive and it will get back to normal. Just give it a little gas if it seems it is going to turn off when stopped.