Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen Suspension & Handling Coilovers, Shocks, Airbags, Swaybars...

Improving suspension on a xA

Search this Thread

Old 07-19-2009, 06:05 AM

Default Improving suspension on a xA

Hi, I would like to improve the handling and ride of my xA, but I don't have much money. I have already purchased a TRD rear anti-sway bar from eBay which should arrive in a few days. Should this be enough to improve the handling to a considerable degree? I was thinking about springs and shocks, but it's a lot of money and I have no experience in installing these parts. I don't have any experience installing a sway bar either but from what I have seen it's pretty easy. Should I get the springs and shocks and if so, can I just get the springs because the shocks seem to be the most expensive component ? (I found TRD springs for less than $100 on trdsparks). Thanks!
Old 07-19-2009, 06:21 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Fail, INC
SL Member
Scinergy

There are a few things you should do to the suspension first when you consider things on a budget. The cheapest mod you can do is to change out the stock end-link bushings with energy suspension bushings. There's a thread around here and the cost is only $22 with nice handling improvements. Another cheap mod you can do is the lower control arm bushings (also energy suspension) but getting the old ones out is a bear and a half. The lower control arm bushings cost maybe about $25 or so. The rear sway bar will improve corning and reduce body roll a little bit. Also, the TRD bar will remove some of the understeer... but not to a point where the car becomes spin happy due to lowered grip.