Notices
Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

DIY: Manual Trans Back-up (Reverse) Light Switch for xA/xB

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2016, 01:31 AM
SL Member

Default DIY: Manual Trans Back-up (Reverse) Light Switch for xA/xB

This helped me identify my Reverse Light problem.

I looked through several pages of the Scion manuals and they all had a cartoon outline, but nothing really definitive.
Everything I searched on Google kept bringing me back to this post.
I was scratching my head thinking it had something to do with how the stereo hooks into the backup-camera as that seemed to have gone out as well.
I work on my cars when I can, but I'm by no means a mechanic.

Second - To add additional information for 2006 Scion xA owners.
This probably works for 2006 Scion xB owners as we share a lot of the same parts, etc...
Anyways.. Looking at the information and pictures provided by NeveNelEstate, I struggled to find the Reverse Switch.

So - You will needed everything mentioned above plus another item:

12MM Socket with a long extension
1 1/16 Socket with a really long extension.
10MM Socket with a long extension

1.) Remove the Air Filter Box.

A.) Remove the intake hose that connects from the Air Filter Box to the Intake. One end connects to the intake, the other connects to the stock air filter box.
You can use a screw driver to loosen the hose clamps, although I found the 10MM socket to work much better.

B.) Use a 10mm to remove the bolt that is holding down the bottom hose which is connected from the bottom of the Air Filter Box to the an area right near the front of the battery.

C.) Unclamp the 2 clamps holding down the front of the Air Filter box. Slide the front of the box forward then move it up and out of the way.

D.) Using a 10mm with a really long extension remove the 3 bolts holding down the bottom of the Air Filter Box.

2.) Unclip the Harness to the Back-Up Light Switch (Reverse Light Switch).