Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

xB2 Tsudo Dual Fireball Mounting question..

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2008, 01:46 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

Default xB2 Tsudo Dual Fireball Mounting question..

I searched about this question, and found no info regarding it. I did post in the 6 page thread regarding this exhaust. I'm new to messin with cars, but have tinkered with motorcycles for years.

I recently purchased a Tsudo dual fireball exhaust for an 08 xB. It arrived quickly and in perfect condition (thanks speedelement).

http://www.speed-element.com/servlet/Detail?no=167

While looking over the installation instructions and the images online, I noticed the left pipe was pretty close to the rear ventilator box..it passes right over it, with (as stated) "at least 1/2" inch
of clearance. Instructions are also given to reroute a hose as it will obviously be in the path.

(instructions)
http://www.speed-element.com/instruc...ll_catback.pdf

My question is this: How hot do these pipes get? is a 1/2" clearance between a hot steel pipe and a plastic box (holding all the vacuum hoses) really sufficient? Washers were provided to shim
the hangers lower, but for that matter is 1" sufficient? Is it going to melt the box? There's not room for a heat shield, really... but I could wrap the pipe in heat tape, old school.

I've spoken with the nice peeps at speedelement, and Andy said he'd look over the initial kit installed, to see how it's holding up. I'd like another opinion, though . If anyone has this exhaust installed, how's it going?

My plan B is to just cap the Y and run single exhaust, but I'd rather run it dual.

Last edited by MR_LUV; 07-03-2021 at 01:46 AM. Reason: Awarded 10 Yr Badge
Old 06-17-2008, 08:07 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member