Notices
Scion xB 2nd-Gen ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

2009 xb component speakers and crossovers

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2011, 09:32 PM
SL Member

Default 2009 xb component speakers and crossovers

I finally upgraded my HU to a Kenwood KDC-HD545U. I will be putting in some new speakers in the rear doors (Bost. Acust. S65RC) and keeping the front speakers for now. I do not want to deal with running an amp but I may end up changing out the front speakers with the BA S60 components because they have a high sensitivity rating. My question is if I do that were are the crossovers for the existing OEM speakers and where would I put the new ones. I am totally new to this but have some ability to adapt and conquer..ha..
Any help would be greatly appreciated. I also plan on matting the doors when I do the speakers to help cut down on some of the road noise. thanks.
Old 01-15-2011, 10:33 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

There aren't any crossovers on the 08-11 xb2 front speakers. They use a small series capacitor to keep the low frequencies from destroying the tweeter. The full range speaker in the door and the tweeter are parallel on one set of wires coming from the deck. So in saying that, unless you want to figure out how to fish two sets of wires through the factory frame to door boot then you'll have to mount the crossover inside the door in order to take advantage of the factory wiring. If you're running outboard amplification, you'd want to do that anyways. If you're running those speakers off the deck then you should be golden.

If I remember correctly from when I did mine, there were nooks on the interior portion of the door panel where you could stash a small crossover box, otherwise, just run new wires and place the crossover inside the passenger compartment. Especially if you live in a wet climate.
Old 01-15-2011, 11:49 PM
SL Member

Thanks for the info!!
Old 01-16-2011, 05:07 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member