View Full Version : what the ---- is this thing?


scionaraxb
11-19-2003, 04:41 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=2442915199

Scroll down and take a look at what it looks like! WTF?

scionracerxb
11-19-2003, 04:48 PM
those things are a joke :wink: ....they are supposed to trick your computer into running leaner which supposedly gives you more power. but that is bad 4 your engine. there was a thread somewhere on here b 4...do a search 4 it. :wink:

scionaraxb
11-19-2003, 04:52 PM
those things are a joke :wink: ....they are supposed to trick your computer into running leaner which supposedly gives you more power. but that is bad 4 your engine. there was a thread somewhere on here b 4...do a search 4 it. :wink:


My bad..I should've looked there.

DjFrOsT
11-19-2003, 04:56 PM
i would buy it just to see what it is...that thing looks like one of those fire crakers...you know which ones i'm talkin about...the one with the strings on both sides and the fire craker in the middle...then you pull the strings and it pops...thats what it look like...where would you even connect that thing :roll: ...but seriously...i would get it just to find out what it does...for reals...lol... :lol:

eric_m
11-19-2003, 05:14 PM
that is a device that hooks between your MAF sensor and ECU and tricks your car into running leaner, which will give you more power. the downside is that first of all you have a higher chance of detonation occuring, which will damage your engine, and secondly, the ECU is smart and if it detects a lean condition during closed loop operation (idling or low throttle), it will pull timing and add fuel to try and compensate and soon your car will be slower and less fuel efficient than it was before you installed the amazing thing they are selling on ebay.

my advice: don't buy it.

scionaraxb
11-19-2003, 05:17 PM
Thanks for the heads up...but I wasn't planning on buying one.........I was just interested in what he hell it was. That has to be one of the stupidest things I've seen in a long time.

DjFrOsT
11-19-2003, 05:17 PM
E...you're smart...i just thinkin its funny how some people will sell anything online...and you know what...someone people believe that that piece of (who what is it)...will actually make your car go faster...with no mods...and even with no problems...i'd just like to see what it actually looks like...you know? but i guess we'll never find out....lol...peace

Mr_scion
11-19-2003, 08:57 PM
my advice: don't buy it.

thats all i can say

George
11-19-2003, 10:34 PM
that is a device that hooks between your MAF sensor and ECU and tricks your car into running leaner, which will give you more power. the downside is that first of all you have a higher chance of detonation occuring, which will damage your engine, and secondly, the ECU is smart and if it detects a lean condition during closed loop operation (idling or low throttle), it will pull timing and add fuel to try and compensate and soon your car will be slower and less fuel efficient than it was before you installed the amazing thing they are selling on ebay.


Doesn't it trick the computer into thinking that the engine is running lean, causing it to richen the mixture into the best power range? The downside, of course, is that it throws economy into the dumper, along with making your catylytic converter run a lot hotter burning the excess hydrocarbons.

I'm always skeptical of e-bay stuff, particularly ads with lots of HTML and flashing junk. The fact that this guy doesn't even care to check the spelling in his ad doesn't say much for his ability to produce a quality product!

George

scionaraxb
11-20-2003, 12:30 AM
Doesn't it trick the computer into thinking that the engine is running lean, causing it to richen the mixture into the best power range? The downside, of course, is that it throws economy into the dumper, along with making your catylytic converter run a lot hotter burning the excess hydrocarbons.

I'm always skeptical of e-bay stuff, particularly ads with lots of HTML and flashing junk. The fact that this guy doesn't even care to check the spelling in his ad doesn't say much for his ability to produce a quality product!

George

I've always thought the same about the stuff on E-Bay.........I thought it looked cheesy/funny and wanted to know what the hell is was supposed to do. I was laughing at the picture of it, and that it shows a dyno run from a Corolla S! :roll:

highend
11-20-2003, 01:33 AM
Someone better warn the high-bidder hamy10dog!

DibujoB
11-20-2003, 01:54 AM
looks like an ankle bracelet I bought my girlfriend in TJ!

George
11-20-2003, 04:53 AM
Someone better warn the high-bidder hamy10dog!

Twenty bucks, cheap lesson. Unless he cooks his catalytic converter, that is!

I love the payment options. Either paypal or a international money order or he will delay your order 2 months! I know Canada is a foreign country to most of his buyers, but their banking system isn't on a 2-month delay! It's not like it's Nigeria! :)