Go Back   Scionlife.com » Scion xB Classic » Scion xB 1st-Gen Owners Lounge » Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen Drivetrain & Power
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Albums Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read GarageVendors TSBs & Recalls

Scion xA/xB 1st-Gen Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Reply
 
 
 
Old 05-05-2005, 11:56 PM   #1
fredrick_brown
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
fredrick_brown
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: wichita ks
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to fredrick_brown Send a message via Yahoo to fredrick_brown
Default importing a vitz rs engine

where can we get vitz rs engines or why can't we get them.
__________________
it only metal any thing can fit if you force it
------------------------------------------
near kansas need a SWAP or any MODs
all imports
KINGKONG MOTOR SPORTS
1-316-260-3260
fredrick_brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:21 AM   #2
TheScionicMan
Senior Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Scion Evolution
 
TheScionicMan's Avatar
TheScionicMan 114/M
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: In the Hot Tub
iTrader: (0)
Default

My guess on the WHY would be Federal Emissions... If it's not on the approved list and isn't made for the USDM, it probably doesn't even matter if they could pass the test or not most importers won't bother with it. They won't pass the inspection/approval. Is that car/engine available in Canada? You might need to take a run for the border...
__________________
------------------------------------
www.TheScionicMan.com

http://www.digitalradiocentral.com
TheScionicMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 12:50 AM   #3
snuppy
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
snuppy's Avatar
snuppy 39/M
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: milpitas, ca
iTrader: (0)
Default

i'm not sure, but i thought the RS was a trim level and had the same 1.5L as the regular echo/vitz/yaris/xB/xA...
__________________
-L
04 Blue xB
01 Green Xterra SE 4WD
all cars should start with an "x"...
snuppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 03:41 AM   #4
fredrick_brown
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
fredrick_brown
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: wichita ks
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to fredrick_brown Send a message via Yahoo to fredrick_brown
Default

the rs was the turbo 1.5 stright swap and i donot think sr20det or rb 20,25,26 came in cars in canada
__________________
it only metal any thing can fit if you force it
------------------------------------------
near kansas need a SWAP or any MODs
all imports
KINGKONG MOTOR SPORTS
1-316-260-3260
fredrick_brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 03:54 AM   #5
KevinxB
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
KevinxB's Avatar
KevinxB 30/M
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Maryland
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to KevinxB
Default

The new Vitz RS has the 1NZ-FE.
__________________
-Kev

www.revlimited.com

Rockin' Blueberry yum yumms
KevinxB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 04:14 AM   #6
fredrick_brown
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
fredrick_brown
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: wichita ks
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to fredrick_brown Send a message via Yahoo to fredrick_brown
Default

sorry!rs turbo who has info
__________________
it only metal any thing can fit if you force it
------------------------------------------
near kansas need a SWAP or any MODs
all imports
KINGKONG MOTOR SPORTS
1-316-260-3260
fredrick_brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 04:37 AM   #7
Keitaro
Senior Member
SL Member
Keitaro 33/M
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
iTrader: (0)
Default

Yeah, same engine but it comes with the TRD Turbo for the 1NZFE. The new Vitz RS don't have the Turbo option. One of the reason is that there never was a factory available turbo. The website below calls it "tuning plan."Also the new vitz uses Super CVT- or a 5-speed MT.

bB/ist/Vitz chassis code NCP13 tuning plan:
http://www.trdparts.jp/parts_trdturbo-plan.html

New Gen Vitz RS 1.5L (chassis code NCP91):
http://toyota.jp/vitz/grade/grade/index.html
Keitaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 05:34 AM   #8
fredrick_brown
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
fredrick_brown
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: wichita ks
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to fredrick_brown Send a message via Yahoo to fredrick_brown
Default

thanks dawg
__________________
it only metal any thing can fit if you force it
------------------------------------------
near kansas need a SWAP or any MODs
all imports
KINGKONG MOTOR SPORTS
1-316-260-3260
fredrick_brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 05:47 AM   #9
fredrick_brown
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
fredrick_brown
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: wichita ks
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to fredrick_brown Send a message via Yahoo to fredrick_brown
Default

what about the 1.3l..fe turbo engine ?any pic or dyno sheet ?how hard is it to swap .ill settle for that rumored to put down 200hp on stock bottom end true
__________________
it only metal any thing can fit if you force it
------------------------------------------
near kansas need a SWAP or any MODs
all imports
KINGKONG MOTOR SPORTS
1-316-260-3260
fredrick_brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 10:13 AM   #10
hotbox05
Senior Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Team N.V.S.
 
hotbox05's Avatar
hotbox05 29/M
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento , CA / Nor*caL
iTrader: (0)
mertechperf mertechperformance@hotmail.com
Send a message via AIM to hotbox05 Send a message via MSN to hotbox05 Send a message via Yahoo to hotbox05
Default

it can take more than 200 on stock bottom end. but it's an ancient motor
__________________
13k posts and counting
'06 Suzuki RMZ450
'74 Honda CB550 K0
'98 Honda VTR1000F
'08 Honda Ruckus
'10 Honda Elite 110
merTECH www.teamnvs.com JDMPalace
www.totalruckus.com
Team N.V.S.
hotbox05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2005, 02:55 PM   #11
fredrick_brown
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
fredrick_brown
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: wichita ks
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via MSN to fredrick_brown Send a message via Yahoo to fredrick_brown
Default

ok ill keep it simple i just want info on the swap.who has done this,how is it working out ,was it hard to do.i do not care how the engine is if its a easy fit and cheap to do also makes good power its for me.
__________________
it only metal any thing can fit if you force it
------------------------------------------
near kansas need a SWAP or any MODs
all imports
KINGKONG MOTOR SPORTS
1-316-260-3260
fredrick_brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 02:06 PM   #12
BeQuietAndDrive
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
BeQuietAndDrive's Avatar
BeQuietAndDrive
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to BeQuietAndDrive
Default

Dude, what don't you get?

There is no "Vitz RS Turbo Engine"

Sorry buddy, Gran Turismo 4 fooled you.

All it is, is a Vitz RS, with the 1.5 1ZNFE you already have, with an added TRD Turbo Kit. The kit is around $5,000 to boost 5 or 6 psi.

If the 1.3 motor you are talking about is the 4EFTE, then you should wait untill EL Prototypes releases their swap kit. No one so far is known to have swapped already.
BeQuietAndDrive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 05:18 PM   #13
uberscionofglendale
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
uberscionofglendale 33/M
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scion of Glendale (CA)
iTrader: (0)
Default

the guy who had the el prototypes turbo swapped the 1.3L turbo i believe. don't quote me on that though.
__________________
Check our reviews. http://www.scionlife.com/dealers/?dealer=131


Please remember to ask for Matt Matsunaga.
uberscionofglendale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2005, 08:02 PM   #14
hotbox05
Senior Member
5 Year Member

SL Member
Team N.V.S.
 
hotbox05's Avatar
hotbox05 29/M
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sacramento , CA / Nor*caL
iTrader: (0)
mertechperf mertechperformance@hotmail.com
Send a message via AIM to hotbox05 Send a message via MSN to hotbox05 Send a message via Yahoo to hotbox05
Default

yep he did and el did the 4efte swap also.
__________________
13k posts and counting
'06 Suzuki RMZ450
'74 Honda CB550 K0
'98 Honda VTR1000F
'08 Honda Ruckus
'10 Honda Elite 110
merTECH www.teamnvs.com JDMPalace
www.totalruckus.com
Team N.V.S.
hotbox05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2005, 04:25 PM   #15
Cockpit_XB
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
Cockpit_XB's Avatar
Cockpit_XB 114/M
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northridge, Ca.
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to Cockpit_XB
Default

You could probably find someone to import it but its gonna cost money to do it, if they can import sr20's or rb motors why not the vitz motor.
__________________
[-|2u|<uS-]
CAMP1320
Cockpit Autosport
Midnight Soundlabs
N-Brake
Stick It Graphics
Frolik
Cockpit_XB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2005, 07:38 PM   #16
fireballfish
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
fireballfish's Avatar
fireballfish
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Virginia Beach
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to fireballfish Send a message via MSN to fireballfish
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cockpit XB
You could probably find someone to import it but its gonna cost money to do it, if they can import sr20's or rb motors why not the vitz motor.
the question is not if you can get a jdm vitz rs motor, the real question is why. the motor the xa/xb comes with is the highest output motor available in the bb/ist/vitz. the addition of a trd turbo kit is what gives the additional power to the vitz turbo.... it's not a different motor, just a dealer installed option....
fireballfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2005, 10:21 PM   #17
xAScionicle
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
xAScionicle 114/M
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
iTrader: (0)
Default

Please....
it is not our call to decide what someone is to do with their car.
We, should only voice "our opinions".
Many great cars have been built by going against popular ideas.
Anyway... for JDM spec engines an stuff, check out this
www.jdmtheory.com
__________________
J.D.M.
Jillions of Dollars to Modify
xAScionicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 03:07 PM   #18
fireballfish
Senior Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
 
fireballfish's Avatar
fireballfish
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Virginia Beach
iTrader: (0)
Send a message via AIM to fireballfish Send a message via MSN to fireballfish
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xAScionicle
Please....
it is not our call to decide what someone is to do with their car.
We, should only voice "our opinions".
Many great cars have been built by going against popular ideas.
Anyway... for JDM spec engines an stuff, check out this
www.jdmtheory.com
that's great and all if you're talking about a honda, but with our cars, we got the best motor available, period. the specs on the jdm 1NZFE are identical to ours.
fireballfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 04:30 PM   #19
xAScionicle
Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
xAScionicle 114/M
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
iTrader: (0)
Default

That's very true.
My guess is, like most of us, we are grabbing at anything that may lead to
a decent power increase.
So far, I have not found the answer that I'm looking for as well...
Blitz - too much $$ for to little gain.
Turbo - damn cali smog laws.
engine swap - possibly, for the right combo and fit.
The Vitz/Yaris/Echo hatch, should be here in the states next year.
Overseas it has either the 1.0l. , 1.3l., or the 1.5l like ours.
I'm not sure, but I think the 1.3 can be had as all wheel drive and/or turbo.
But yeah, I would stick with the original 1.5.
__________________
J.D.M.
Jillions of Dollars to Modify
xAScionicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2005, 04:30 PM
Scionlife.com
Scion TC



Paid Advertisement
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
1nzfe, 4efte, baddest, chassis, code, engine, ist, motor, rs, scion, swap, toyota, turbo, vitz, xa


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:09 AM.
Advertising - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Jobs
vBulletin® v3.8.7, Copyright ©2000-2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Forums Backup with Admin Control Panel