Notices
Off-topic Cafe Meet the others and talk about whatever...

New to snowboarding

Search this Thread

Old 12-25-2005, 06:30 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default New to snowboarding

Hello, i was wondering if anyone can help me with a setup for snowboarding. I am new to it and still havent done it but i wanna buy some fairly cheap stuff because i wanna start. I dont know anything about it though like how tall the board has to be and what difference there are in boots and bindings and all that. If anyone can give me some advice it would be kool, Thanks in advance. Laterz
Old 12-25-2005, 06:58 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scinergy

let me put it this way:

I was over at wal-mart last night, and there was an employee of the optometry shop sitting at his post, playing one of the demo 'first act' electric guitars. You know, the $99 deals. he had it plugged into this crappy wal-mart amp. And here this guy sat, just nochalantly belting out licks. Not trying at all, but doing things to this axe that have probably never been done on HALF the stratocasters ever sold.

so... it really doesnt' matter what equipment you have.

but...I totally realize that it takes confidence to ride, and it's hard to have that 'confident first day' if your gear looks like you just ripped off the tard squad.

I started riding 3 years ago, but I have gotten 100+ days each season since. I'm still rockin the same gear.

here's the skinny: you gotta get some bad ___ boots. ignore the brand. find a pair that you think you could wear for a week. if you have big feet, try and get into the smallest boots possible.

don't buy a wide board, even if you're a size 15. get risers.

don't stand in the store and flex the boards like everybody else.