Notices
Photography & Video A place to discuss and display cameras, equipment and photographs.

So what do you think?

Old 08-02-2009, 02:01 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default So what do you think?

O.k. - apologize in advance for loooong thread.
I have been a hobby photographer for a while but been more into it the past couple of years.

I have (had) a Canon Powershot S3 IS (SLR inspired) that has myteriously (literally) up and vanished. I have looked everywhere to try and find it thinking I may have misplaced it but it has not turned up anywhere.

Anyway, =me

I mean its not as fancy equipment but it is my equipment, to sound bratty.

SO, as a last resort, I have been looking on ebay at some deals on some other Canons but I have been thinking about going SLR.
I am going Canon only for the fact I have picked these bad boys up and woosh, know them and can work with them.
The only thing that has been keeping from doing so is my camera had video mode and it was used a few times a year, BUT, I do want to take my photography to the next level and possibly upgrade.

Now, the question is, what canon EOS would be something more convienient for me? I have been trying to compare and contrast but yeah, its not working by the specifics.

I do have a budget I will be working with, so nothing outlandish in price range....(remember, working with ebay trying to find the best cheapest deal lol)

I have been looking into the following:
Canon Rebel:
XT
XTI
XS
XSI

I was looking at the new t1i but even a used one is out of my range.

I was also thinking a 50d, but again, out of price range. but maybe a 30d?

I do a lot of landscape shots, architecture, sunsets/rises, moon shots.
I do some slight automobile shots, but only when I either see a car I really want a photo of or be asked to photograph someones car.

I do however want to branch into photographing models.