Regional - Northeast CT, MA, ME, NH, NJ, NY, PA, RI, VT

Driving Law question?

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2007, 05:09 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Driving Law question?

My girlfriend was in an accident yesterday. She is Ok but we had a question based on "fault" of the accident. I was a police officer for 3 years in MD but I'm not sure what the law states in PA.

Basically it went like this. She was traveling on a main road southbound. She had a green light as she approached the intersection. She got in the left hand turning lane and made a U-Turn. Drivers coming from the opposite direction had clear visibility of the intersection and there weren't any "no u-turn" signs. In MD, that means you can make a legal U-turn. So she makes her U-turn to head northbound, but there was a truck making a right on red to also head northbound. The right on red was also legal because there were no signs. Basically they collided on the northbound side of the street. Who is at fault?

Obviously being biased, my feeling is this. If you're coming out of a neighborhood to a red light, you're considered to be on a ``side'' street which means that you yield to main street traffic, even those making a U-turn.

I have been to about 30 different websites and have seen it argued both ways?

your thoughts
Old 07-10-2007, 05:14 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

my thoughts about this is that an accident like this would never go purely to one person's fault and most likely will end up being 50/50 but thats what I think..
Old 07-10-2007, 05:38 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Scikotics
SL Member

In oklahoma it would be the truck on red because the car making a u-turn is on the main thorough-fair therefore the driver has the right away. Just make sure you have both witnesses and a police report.
Old 07-10-2007, 06:01 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member