ID, OR, WA

Rims...Aluminum VS Steel?!?

Search this Thread

Old 06-03-2012, 04:29 PM
SL Member

Default Rims...Aluminum VS Steel?!?

Ok All

I am AGGRESSIVELY looking for some new rims

And although most of the ones that I really like I have been told will not fit I am still trying to find something that will work

I have come across a handful of Steel rims that have a whole lot of potential

Other than the additional weight issue......

What are the cons of going with Steel?
Old 06-03-2012, 05:19 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I'm not an expert, but I believe weight is the biggest thing. You shouldn't worry about steel vs aluminum either. It should be more about forged rims vs casted rims. This will determine the quality and durability of what your'e buying.
Old 06-03-2012, 07:07 PM
SL Member

Of course its a weight difference between steel and aluminum. Aluminum is lighter. But easier to break in some aspects. Not as durable.
Old 06-03-2012, 10:01 PM
10 Year Member

5 Year Member

SL Member

What are you wanting out of a wheel? Looks/ performance/ low cost? Cast are cheap but aren't very durable in the long run, machined are decent all around (similar to stock), steel ate uber durable but heavy/lacking in style and heavy (usually), forged is the best of all but spendy.
Old 06-05-2012, 06:48 AM
Admin Emeritus

10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

In a cast rim, what do you experts feel is an average lifetime in order for you to consider them not very durable?

What is their normal failure mode?

As most have said, weight is the largest drawback to steel wheels in general, but their failure modes are a bit different than alloy wheels, which is why serious off-roading has traditionally been done on steel: You can bend em, but they generally won't crack or shatter like an alloy. THe steel wheel will get you back home. :o)