Notices
Scion FR-S Owner's Lounge
Scion FR-S Forum - The Scion sport coupe

Wanting to trade in my 2012 tc for an FR-S

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2012, 07:55 AM

Default Wanting to trade in my 2012 tc for an FR-S

So I bought my 2012 tC in November of last year. I got the military rebate, and got about $3,000 for trading in my old car. I owe just under 15,000 on it now and KBB says i should get around 16,500...and thats on a 2011 tC model. By the looks of it I shouldn't be upside down on the trade in on this car for the FR-S but am I technically losing money because i did get $3,000 for my old car when trading in for the tC and now I'd only be getting $1,500 for trading in the tC towards the FR-S? Sorry if this is confusing, im a little confused myself on if I'm asking this right haha. Im new to the whole buying new cars thing, the tC was the first car i actually got on my own.

When getting the FR-S id also be getting the military rebate again and plan on putting 4-5,000 down plus whatever i get from trading in my tC if anything at all. Would be trying to get around the same payments i have now.
Old 07-09-2012, 01:26 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member
Scion Evolution

You should be talking with a salesman, not us.

Go in and crunch some numbers.
Old 07-09-2012, 01:46 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I traded in my 2011 scion tc with 19157 miles and got 15200 for it. It was black and manual with a little scrap on the side nothing a little touch up paint cud not fix. i owed 9000k on it so the rest went to the frs. If u owe 15,000k but the car is worth 16500, they will most likely give u about 15,500-16k maybe! but i wudnt be surprised if they hit u with the "we'll give u what u owe on the car" phrase. Its better if u have a trade in actually cuz my dealership told me that they are not selling their frs models without a trade in
Old 07-09-2012, 02:15 PM
10 Year Member

5 Year Member
SL Member