Notices
Scion tC 1G Aero & Exterior Aero parts and exterior dress items...

DIY - G-Force LED Tail Lights Rewire

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2008, 05:53 AM
SL Member

Default DIY - G-Force LED Tail Lights Rewire

Okay, newbie here with a DIY so be gentle

Try not to pay attention to the date stamp, I did not set it right pictures were taken on 9/6/08

Before:

After - hello miss new booty!:

Now that I have caught your attention, lets get to the DIY. Disclaimer: I am not responsible for any damage that you caused to your vehicle while doing this DIY.

As good as these tail lights look IMO, it is such a pity that these were mis-wired by the manufacturer. Consequently, a fuse is blown every time the brake pedal is pressed. With the help of Cavalierkid888, I was able to correct this problem by switching out the brake wire with ground wire.

First and foremost, you will need a pack of 10A low profile mini fuses just in case you blow them. There are those who have went thru 5 ! I salute these great people for their bravery. Note: the fuse that you will likely blow is the brake fuse located in the driver's side, near the pedals. The second fuse that you will likely blow is the turn signal fuse, located in the engine bay.

Since the two lights are identical in wiring, I will only be showing you how to wire one; you can repeat the process on the other. Here is the light:

Here are the plugs. Left is turn signal and right is brake & parking light.

The turn signal plug does not need to be modified. The one we need to mess with is the brake/parking plug. Here is a close-up shot. See the red and black wires? These need to be switched.

Begin by prying the silicon adhesive. I used a key, but you can use anything as long as it isn't so sharp that it will cut the wires.