Notices
Scion tC 1G Aero & Exterior Aero parts and exterior dress items...

low beam is too dim

Search this Thread

Old 10-18-2017, 04:54 PM

Default low beam is too dim

I have a 2009 tC with stock headlight setting (reflector housing for high beam and projection for low beam). The low beam is too dim, almost at a point not to drive safe on unlit roads.
I have restored headlight clarity, tried new halogen, new HID and new LED for lowbeam (H11), and all of them failed to produce decent illumination. This got me to suspect that the problem is not with lights, but somewhere else.

My high-beams are halogen (9005), DRLs are cheap T10 LEDs. Does mixing LEDs and halogen causing any trouble? One thing I noticed is that when turning on high beams, the DRLs do not go off. Don't know if that's normal.
High beams illuminate well, by the way. It's the low beam that's bad.

Any suggestion where to start looking at? I'm new in tC world, so need your help badly.

Last edited by MR_LUV; 01-14-2018 at 09:51 PM. Reason: moved to Correct Forum by Moderator
Old 10-18-2017, 07:37 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member

SL Member

are they the factory headlight or an ebay/aftermarket headlight? its possible that the projector itself could be misaligned.

There should be aiming adjustment screws on the back of your headlight, try adjusting them.
Old 10-18-2017, 07:46 PM

Thanks. They are factory headlights, I just tried few different aftermarket low beam bulbs (HIDs and LEDs).
The alignment could be shot, I guess, but would a bad alignment cause dim lights?
Old 10-19-2017, 02:41 AM
Banned
SL Member