Notices
Scion tC 1G Drivetrain & Power Engine and transmission discussions...

Brief hesitation. Drive by Wire issue? Normal?

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2015, 06:44 AM
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Brief hesitation. Drive by Wire issue? Normal?

I've been feeling a very brief hesitation on acceleration if I accelerate quickly, as soon as the car starts moving. The hesitation is not felt if I accelerate at a slower rate or at any other time while driving. Only as soon as the car starts to move. Feels a lot like DBW. Is the DBW system problematic on the TC? or is what Im feeling normal for quick accelerations from a stop? Doesnt seem like it as I havent felt this in the past. Im still somewhat new to these cars and still learning what their common problems are. I searched and only a handful of threads about DBW popped up. Thanks

Last edited by mc1114; 07-28-2015 at 05:27 PM.
Old 07-30-2015, 08:24 PM
5 Year Member
SL Member

So the DBW system does not seem to be very problematic from what I've read. Today at a stoplight the car accelerated fine for a split second, then there was no acceleration for literally a full 2 seconds before it picked up again, so now I know there's a problem. Since this issue right now happens very rarely, I may just wait until it gets worse and hopefully it will trigger a code. If anyone has any other insight let me know
Old 07-31-2015, 02:04 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Originally Posted by mc1114
So the DBW system does not seem to be very problematic from what I've read. Today at a stoplight the car accelerated fine for a split second, then there was no acceleration for literally a full 2 seconds before it picked up again, so now I know there's a problem. Since this issue right now happens very rarely, I may just wait until it gets worse and hopefully it will trigger a code. If anyone has any other insight let me know