Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

amp getting too hot

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2008, 04:01 AM
SL Member

Default amp getting too hot

so i've heard that some people put computer fans in their car next to their amp to help cool it down... those of you that have done this how have you wired it up? can you use the battery wire off the amp for power and the blue amp remote wire as a signal to turn it on when your car is on? any help is appreciated since I'm a noob when it comes to car audio haha
Old 08-05-2008, 04:09 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
Balliztik
SL Member

the signal wire should power it......
Old 08-05-2008, 04:14 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Originally Posted by BZinn1
the signal wire should power it......
if you are referring to the turn on lead, then NO! do not hook a fan up directly to the turn on lead.

you can however use a turn on lead to trigger a relay to hook up a fan. i did this in a prior install in a past vehicle and it worked well.
Old 08-05-2008, 04:37 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SoCal tC Club
SL Member

so what should he do ? i want to know because im having a problem with mine overheating, everyonce in a while it shuts off because it over heats

how would u hook up the relay??
Old 08-05-2008, 04:48 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

go to bcae1.com and on the right side scroll down until you see the tab for cooling fans. it shows how to wire up a 4 pin relay. this is the correct way to do it. it may look a little complex but its really not.

the only other option is to wire a fan to a switch and turn it off and on manually, but thats a pain in the ___.

but do not hook a fan right up to the turn on lead.
Old 08-05-2008, 05:04 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SoCal tC Club
SL Member

Originally Posted by Tcguy85