Notices
Scion tC 1G ICE & Interior In-car entertainment and electronics...

Help: Water in interior

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2009, 11:20 PM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

Default Help: Water in interior

Noticed water on my floormat when I got home today.
Removed black plastic panel from underneath passenger side dash.
Water sitting in it and sound deadening/insulation (whatever it is) is soaking wet. Couldn't tell the main source - there was a few condensed water drops here and there and on both sides of the carpet/floormat. What's that round black thing mounted up inside under the dashboard? I have a feeling it's coming from that. Heater core? I've got 4k miles left on my warrenty luckily.

Thanks for any help in advance.
Old 09-23-2009, 12:17 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

i'm not a mechanic, but i'm willing to say it is in fact your heater core. i had that problem on an older chevy a while back. it progressed and flooded the driver side too. take care of that, pronto.
Old 09-23-2009, 12:18 AM
5 Year Member

Default The exact thing happened to me this weekend in my xD

Over the weekend when making left turns, I noticed a the sound of water sloshing to the right side of the dashboard. During the later portion of the weekend, one of my passengers noticed that the floorboards were soaked and there was water leaking from the same location. On Monday, I took my car to the dealer who diagnosed it as a clogged vent for the AC and the solution was to install a cabin filter which retails for about $35. I was surprised to say the least to hear that it didn't come standard with the car but had it installed anyway.
Old 09-23-2009, 01:33 AM
10 Year Member
5 Year Member
SL Member

I'll replace my cabin air filter and still take it to the dealer tomorrow. Little trick I learned here from SL. Buy the best filter you can for your furnace. About 8-$10. You can cut this up and get 4 "cabin air filters" for 1/3 the price of 1 from the dealer. hehehe